2016 in Review | looking back & looking ahead

one-year-ahead
a fun fact: I originally made this graphic for my 2015 wrap up post, accidentally put 2016 before saving it, and then was so fed up with my own typo that I just abandoned it for a year. BUT IT’S USEFUL NOW.

Hello hello all! I hope you had a good Christmas or Hanukkah if you celebrate, and if you don’t, Happy End of December- 2016 is almost over! There were a lot of awful things that happened this year, but not everything was bad! So here’s a list of some good things that happened in 2016 in the world and to me.

world events

Gravitational waves were detected for the first time! What the heck does that mean? Basically, gravitational waves are like ripples in space-time caused when something like two massive black holes collide, and prove Albert Einstein’s theory that space-time is fluid and can, to put it plainly, jiggle a bit. (more info) Along with that, NASA’s Mission Juno team successfully put a spacecraft into Jupiter’s orbit! This will give us lots of information about the planet, and it’s also the first time it’s ever happened. (more info) To top it all off, the James Webb Space Telescope, a bigger and better version of the Hubble Telescope, was completed, and there might be a ninth planet orbiting our sun. (JWST info & ninth planet info)

Ebola was officially eradicated in West Africa (more info), world tiger rates rose for the first time in 100 years (more info), and the US’ National Park Service turned 100 (more info)! The ozone hole has shrunk quite a bit since 2006, and apparently scientists think that it could be fully healed by 2050! (more infoGlobal carbon emissions have flatlined for the third year in the row, measles has been eradicated in the Americas, and the largest marine reserve was created off the coast of Antarctica, which will protect penguins, fish, and other marine organisms! (carbon emmisions info, measles info, & marine reserve info)

Rio hosted the 31st Summer Olympics, and it was great! Simone Biles and Katie Ledecky rocked it in gymnastics and swimming for the US, respectively, and the first ever Refugee Team competed. (more info)

Google also simultaneously made me cry and smile with their Year in Search video:

(if anyone is curious, the song is “Light the Sky” by Grace VanderWaal, who won America’s Got Talent this year and is super amazing and talented!!)

if you want to see more on the good of 2016: Quartz, PBS Newshour, and Buzzfeed all have lists! I complied my list from theirs and the @astrophysics_ instagram page/post.

personal

I somehow managed to complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge for this year?? WHICH IS GREAT, SO YAY. Some of my favorite books from this year included:

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | Vango: Between Sky and Earth by Timothée de Fombelle | Blink by Malcom Gladwell | Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley | The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness | Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo | Solitaire by Alice Oseman | The Martian by Andy Weir | Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

My family also got sucked into quite a few TV shows, including Netflix’s The Crown (which I wrote a post about), Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries (which I also wrote a post about), and BBC America’s Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency (which I have yet to write a post about but I will because it’s faNTASTIC). I got into Syfy’s Wynonna Earp but am also still only on episode 6, and the anime Yuri on Ice (shhh children no spoilers I’m on episode 8). My dad and sister and I also watched all of the new Star Trek movies and now I am completely devoted to watch all of the original series. Moana happened and is SO WONDERFUL AND AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL. YOU ALL SHOULD GO SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN’T. J.K. Rowling also graced us with the beauty that is Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them, and I am SO EXCITED for the next four movies in this series. (There’s no such thing as too much Harry Potter unless we’re talking about Cursed Child.)

Music I loved this year included The Lumineer’s new album Cleopatra which is SO SO GOOD, literally everything by The Head and The Heart (how did I not know about them until this year??), and Florence + The Machine’s How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful. My ultimate favorite song was probably Hey Rosetta!’s “Harriet”- it’s honestly so lovely and I could listen to it for ages.

I started high school, which was stressful as anything, but it’s pretty good so far! I’ve made some amazing friends, my classes this semester were all great (even math), and I think I finally know my way around the school. I think I improved a lot in my art with the art class I’m taking, which is yay!! (Maybe someday I’ll do a post on here.) I crashed and burned again with doing NaNoWriMo- next year I think I’ll just make my goal to blog more. 🙂 This year I’m particularly grateful for my amazing friends- especially L and Scarlett- and that tech allows me to stay in touch with my old friends. My family is also amazing, as always. ILY GUYS.

How was your 2016? What are some of the things you’re happy or grateful for, and what good news would you like to share? (And, to be honest, are you really grateful for 2016 to be over?) SHARE ALL BELOW.

signature

9 thoughts on “2016 in Review | looking back & looking ahead

  1. YAY GRAVITATIONAL WAVES a science lady who worked on the James Webb Telescope came into our school to talk about them and she was so excited by it and I was just like YASSSSS. I too feel deeply excited by science-y things. And it’s really nice to share the good things that happened in 2016 — there was some stuff in the newspaper the other day about good stuff that happened each month and it did cheer me up.
    Yes to Moana! And Fantastic Beasts! And Yuri on Ice which I am three episodes into but nonetheless enjoying. Also DUDE YOU READ SOLITAIRE, that’s super cool! (*whispers* Alice Oseman is so good tbh)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OHMIGOSH THAT’S SO COOL. science and space makes me SO HAPPY there’s just always more new stuff and that’s super awesome!
      Oooh you’re watching YOI too!! Yay! AND YES IT WAS SO GOOD. I need to read Radio Silence immediately tbh.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. IT WAS PRETTY COOL, I’M STILL PRETTY HYPED BY THOSE SCIENCE LECTURES. I actually like science a lot. *flails* Yes I am! Hopefully I’ll finish it sometime soon haha. I’m really glad to hear you liked Solitaire! I know I mention Radio Silence, like, the ENTIRE BLOODY TIME but what can I say, I do love it a lot 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love how you wrote this recap especially when you included those summary of world events! My year in books and blogging has been pretty quiet since I was sucked into the black hole that is school 😅 But I’m hoping that 2017 will be better!

    And yaaasssss, Florence + The Machine is life. Happy new year! 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Unfortunately, last year was a pretty abysmal year for the world with everything from the US election results, Brexit, etc but I’m glad that you focused on a lot of happy events in this post. 🙂 Anyway, just wanted to say happy 2016 (even though it’s belated) and hope that you are well, Evi! And congratulations on finishing your GRs challenge; those are never easy to complete, haha.

    Summer

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

