The Les Mis Book Tag + The Hamilton Book Tag | more tags? yes!

Hello lovelies! A (slightly long and noticeable) while ago, Eve tagged me in a tag she had made- The Les Mis Book Tag! Basically I internally screamed a lot because the love of my life that is Les Misérables + MORE BOOKS. (Thank you Eve! ❤ ) And then Holly (also a quite long time ago, oops) tagged me in the Hamilton Book Tag, which she created as well! (Thank you Holly! ❤ ) So two of my favorite musicals as book tags? YES.

The Les Mis Book Tag

I Dreamed a Dream

but there are dreams that cannot be and there are storms we cannot weather: a book that didn’t live up to your high expectations

Ooooh, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, definitely. I was so excited for it: wings! pretty cover! interesting plot! prose-y writing! And then I just did not like any of it. Bleh. 😦

77173The Confrontation

I’ve hunted you across the years: your favorite literary duo

I HAVE SO MANY FOR THIS ONE, YIKES. But I’m going to have to go with Tintin and Snowy from the Tintin graphic novels. I practically grew up with these comics, and I reread them so often!

Castle on a Cloud

I know a place where no one cries: a book you have read that made you comforted+ happy

Whenever I read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda I get all warm and fuzzy because it’s such a sweet and fluffy book, omg. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. I would like to hug it a lot. And also because LGBTQ+ books with such sweet and fluffy and happy endings makes me so happy.

Red and Black99561

red, the blood of angry men: a book you have an unpopular opinion about

I’ve actually written a whole post about this, and I’ve got to go with Looking For Alaska by John Green. I just really disliked this one and Paper Towns– I didn’t like the narrators, or the plot, or the manic-pixie-dream-girl trope, or any of it, really. But most everybody else I know LOVES it.

Do You Hear the People Sing?

will you get up and follow me?: a book you read due to hype

Basically the entire blogosphere screamed at the world about The Wrath and the Dawn, and at first I wasn’t sure what all the fuss was about. And then I picked it up purely based on all the insanely good reviews and became another person to add an insanely good review. It was really good, and I was most definitely not expecting to love it as much as I did.

One Day More

one more dawn, one more day: a book that kept you reading into the next chapter (and the next, and the next)

Oh gosh, when we read Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None  for school, I skipped ahead SO MANY TIMES. We had to read it aloud, so you weren’t supposed to read ahead…ahem. I was not very good at that. IT JUST ENGROSSED YOU SO WELL.

9375On My Own

still I say there’s a way for us: a ship of yours that isn’t canon

I die inside laughing and also crying at the very appropriate combination of that prompt and that song. I will totally fangirl with anyone and everyone about Eposette, and although that is a magnificent choice- I must say Ruth and Idgie from Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg. Because 1930s girlfriends. I mean, it’s mostly canon? I will argue with anybody and anyone that says other wise, but it’s also a bit vague so I am happy I get to use it here.

Drink With Me

let the wine of friendship never run dry: your favorite bookish friendship

DEFINITELY the girls of the Lumberjanes comics. They’re all such great friends and it’s so happy and pure and sweet! ❤ YES bookish friendships.

(and I also must say les amis because MORE FRIENDSHIPS)

Bring Him Home

let me die, let him live: that one character you will do anything to see protected

OH GOSH. All of them? Can I answer that? In reality, it’s probably Marius or Cosette from Les Mis, because they are so sweet and such dorks. Fauntleroy from Francis Hodgeson Burnette’s Little Lord Fauntleroy is also such a sweet, smol bean. *hugs ALL the characters*

Empty Chairs at Empty Tables

now my friends are dead and gone: a character death you don’t think you’ll ever recover from (spoilers beware!)

The one I was most shocked by has to be Javert from Les Mis. I remember having to reread that part because I was like, “Wait, did that really just happen?” It was totally something I was NOT expecting at all. (And also, as Eve said, every single death of every single of my faves. Very cruel. Very cruel.)

I tag anyone who’s seen/read Les Mis and would like to do this! I MUST FIND ALL MY LES MIS NERDS. COME TO ME, MY CHILDREN.

The Hamilton Book Tag

Alexander Hamilton19351043

got a lot farther by working a lot harder: a book with an underdog protagonist

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson! Ballister Blackheart’s only sort of the protagonist, anyhow, he’s “technically” the villain, but this just makes him the perfect underdog. And, I mean, most everybody hates him, so there’s that too.

My Shot

scratch that this is not a moment, it’s the movement: a book that made you want to rise up and tell everyone about it

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, hands down. Benjamin Alire Saenz’s writing is just so beautiful and lovely and prose-y, and Ari and Dante’s friendship-to-romance is honestly so great (also yay! friends first, because realistic!) and amazing and lovely lovely lovely.

The Schuyler Sisters

and when I meet Thomas Jefferson, I’m ‘a compel him to include women in the sequel!: a book with some kick(butt) sisters

Ahhh, this one was hard! I couldn’t really thing of any at first, but then I remembered how great the sisters in The Rest of Us Just Live Here were. They were so realistic and awesome and (I totally didn’t forget their names) just great characters in general.

A question I would like to pose: where are all my sisters in fiction?

18667779You’ll Be Back

and I’ll love you till my dying days: a book you know you’ll read again

I am so, so enamored with the book Everything Leads To You by Nina LaCour. I have already reread it so many times that I’m certain by the time I’m thirty it’ll be insanely worn, but IT’S SUCH A LOVELY BOOK. Just look at the cover. SO LOVELY.

Helpless13260524

then you walked in and my heart went “boom”: a book you couldn’t help but buy

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand- I spotted this at my favorite little bookshop the other day, read the blurb, and was instantly hooked. (I haven’t actually read it yet though.) It’s about a girl named Finley and a magical forest and family and also depression, which is something I haven’t seen in a middle-grade protagonist, so that would be really interesting, and also it sounds so bittersweet!

Dear Theodosia

we’ll give the world to you and you’ll blow us all away: a book that blew you away

Code Name Verity blew me away, and also took my heart and squeezed it, then snapped it in two and crushed it and stomped on it. That book is one marvelous piece of literature, but also ouch.

Non-Stop

maaaaan, the man is non-stop!: a book that you couldn’t stop reading

I got Illuminae as a Valentine’s Day gift from my parents and I mostly read it in school- which wasn’t really the greatest idea because I just couldn’t stop reading it, oh my goodness. It was so good, and engrossing, and ahhhh just great.

Cabinet Battle #1

we fought for these ideals, we shouldn’t settle for less: a book that you would always defend in an argument

A while back (for school) I read The Once and Future King, and although it was really long and a bit dry, it was also really interesting! Because King Arthur and medieval times and magic! I will also personally fight anyone who says anything about Les Misérables, because although that book is ridiculously long and sometimes pointless (*cough*allofthesewersystemparts*cough*) it is also my precious.

28194The Room Where It Happens

click-boom then it happened: a book with a unique setting

Cornelia Funke’s books- really, all of them- have such insanely unique and magical settings. The Inkworld series is literally inside a book. It gets all the kudos for unique setting. Her Mirrorworld series is also very unique: like Inkworld, it’s a sort of parallel world inside a world, but it’s still a lot different from Inkworld, and has so many interesting places and magical things within it.

It’s Quiet Uptown

there are moments that the words don’t reach: a book that left you speechless

I think I was in the car when I finished reading I’ll Give You The Sun, and I’m 98% certain I turned to my mom and said something along the lines of “good book” and then a bunch of gibberish and happy noises. I don’t know that you meant literally speechless, but I was. That book is a work of art, honestly.

The Election of 1800

every action has an equal opposite reaction: a book revolving around a competition

To be honest, the only one I could think of was The Hunger Games. It’s a slightly more dangerous competition, but a competition nonetheless.

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story19254725

I put myself back in the narrative: a book with a memorable narrator

Mine is actually dually narrated? Sort of? gena/finn by Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson is about (you guessed it) Gena and Finn, and it’s told entirely through texts, and blog posts, and emails and more between the two. And it was such a cool way to narrate it! It also showed the girls’ personalities really well. (also, I love this book with all my heart and soul so there’s that too.)

I tag Eve in this, my musical theater buddy, and also Cynthia – I’m sorry for tagging you in stuff while you’re away, but at the same time, HAMILTON. And you, if you are a Hamilton nerd and I do not know!

signature

7 thoughts on “The Les Mis Book Tag + The Hamilton Book Tag | more tags? yes!

  1. haha no worries! I’m so glad you did it! 🙂 Also, I can totally see why The Hunger Games is an instinctual choice– the currently US presidential election reminds me of the Hunger Games all the time, which is quite a scary thought. Anyways, awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, too, was rather disappointed by Ava Lavender. SO MUCH WASTED POTENTIAL. And aah I really need to get round to reading Fried Green Tomatoes — it sounds fabulous but I’m afraid I’m a bit lazy at reading non-library books. (ALSO YAY FOR LUMBERJANES.)
    I have…actually just scheduled a Hamilton Book Tag? But it’s DIFFERENT TO THIS ONE??? That’s super weird ahaha. And I also super need to read Everything Leads to You and gena/finn because both have been on my TBR for way too long and I am desperate to do so. *nods*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg I feel horrible because I finished The Rest of Us Just Live Here and I don’t remember any sisters??? My memory is terrible lol. Also I really want to read Aristotle and Dante (but I always end up finding damaged copies at my bookstore 😦 ) and And Then There Were None!
    Omg I remember sitting in the cinema and Javert walking on that edge and being like ‘he’s not going to jump is he don’t jump Javert step back now Javert’ but he. didn’t. listen. Definitely didn’t expect it either!

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

