The Little Engine Tag

Hello, lovelies! Hope your day is going well. Matt over at The Little Engine That Couldn’t made his own tag and then tagged me on the grounds that I post about as inconsistently as him. Which is pretty true. I post about as much as humans see narwhals.

^ Okay, so I started this post like a day or two after Matt tagged me…which was back in April. It’s now nearly July. Congrats, Matt, you were right, my inconsistency of posting has reached a whole new level. I must do those 20 chin-ups you forced upon me as a condition if I don’t do it in a week.

RULES:

  1. Each answer you give to a question has to be more than two sentences long. Or at the very least, you have to make those two sentences meaningful.
  2. There will be two bonus questions at the end, that the blogger gets to change to whatever they want to ask when they nominate someone else. The first six questions, however, are set in stone.
  3. At the end you must nominate three to five other bloggers. Okay, so you don’t have to, but that would be nice if you could. ([Matt] want[s his] blog name to spread on for all of eternity.)

Question time!

1.) What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?

Generally, I never have an answer for this question, but I do this time! It’s actually been something on my mind for a bit: when people try to one-up another person for no reason while talking. In example: person a is talking to a group of friends and mentions casually, “Oh, I accidentally broke a plate in this really weird way yesterday.” Friend group laughs and scolds person a’s clumsiness appropriately. Then, person b randomly enters the conversation to say, “ONCE WHEN I WAS FOUR I KNOCKED OVER AN ENTIRE CHINA CABINET.” a) NOBODY CARES, b) you weren’t even contributing/acknowledging the original statement- like, yeah they were talking about breaking stuff but there’s literally no point to your response other than trying to, like, out-do person a, and c) IT’S SO POINTLESS AND LAME AND IRRELEVANT AND KINDA RUDE. I just don’t understand it. Please, if I ever accidentally do this, somebody hit me over the head and scream at me so that I can then stop and cry over my lameness.

2) What is your favorite song at the moment?

Oooh! Currently, it’s two. I really really love “Death of a Bachelor” by Panic! At the Disco right now. It’s just so lovely and big-band-y and I love the message a lot as well. “Death of a Bachelor” seems like such an ominous name, but it’s about falling in love and getting married and stuff and my little romantic heart just squees every time I hear it. ❤

Dodie Clark, whom you should definitely go follow on Youtube right now (her song covers ARE THE GREATEST), did a super pretty cover of “Death of a Bachelor”, but slower and slightly more jazzier, and it’s just amazing. I love it so, so much.

“The death of a bachelor, Oh
Seems so fitting for
Happily ever after
How could I ask for more?
A lifetime of laughter
At the expense of the death of a bachelor.”

I also really love the song “Cleopatra” by The Lumineers! (Their new album Cleopatra came out recently and I’m only just now listening to it and asldfhlaskdf it’s amazing!) “Cleopatra” is just so very catchy but sad and beautiful.

“I was Cleopatra, I was young and an actress
When you knelt by my mattress, and asked for my hand
But I was sad you asked it, as I laid in a black dress
With my father in a casket, I had no plans.”

(Also because I am a undeciding bean, “I Just Wanna Run” by The Downtown Fiction is very jammable. Butterable. Toastable.)

3) Who is your favorite blogger?

EVERYBODY. *waves hands* But if we’re going to be particular, Engie and Eve and Cynthia and Michelle and Jupe and Cait and Miriam are all REALLY GREAT. Thank y’all for being inspiring and cool and lovely and great bloggy friends, even those whom I admire from afar! (In specificity, Cynthia has been a really kind and sweet and awesome bean and GO GIVE HER SOME LOVE.)

magic johnny depp movie gif pirates of the carribean magic gif
source

4) What’s the nicest thing you’ve seen someone do recently?

After Orlando, one of my friends who has two moms wrote a very nice speech/post on Instagram. I won’t share it, but it was very touching. Sadly, there were still people being hateful in the comments, but it was a very lovely post.

5) What’s something you regret doing?

Every now and then I eat something that has a lot of dairy and thus lactose in it and forget to take one of my pills. I usually regret that. My stomach does as well.

6) If you could take only three items with you to a deserted island, what would they be and why?

Probably a hammer, some nails, and a book on how to build a raft. But if we’re talking entirely non-helpful items, Les Misérables because it’s really long, some CDs because MUSIC, and a CD player. Despite the fact that there may be no outlets on a deserted island.

Bonus question time!

7) If you could, right now, paint your house any color, what would it be and why?

I’d probably paint mine, like, a bright, buttery yellow, or purple. I’d like to have a house that isn’t grey or brown or green or brick.

8) What is your ideal pet?

AN AFRICAN PYGMY HEDGEHOG. They’re really cute and tiny and adorable, but are sadly illegal in my state. They’re easier to take care of then, say, a horse. Horses are very large.

I tag: 

Cynthia @ Baldur’s Ice Cream and Chocolates

Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

and you, random citizen!

signature

11 thoughts on “The Little Engine Tag

  1. it was too early in the morning for music and then I went and listened to cleopatra but at least now it’s playing ophelia which is the other lumineers song I know T___T

    ❤ *blushes* thanks for tagging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I CAN RELATE TO YOUR PET PEEVE SO MUCH. I HAD A CLASSMATE WHO DID THAT. Like I was talking to one of my friends who had been hold back the previous year, so I didn’t see her as much as I used to. We were talking and all of a sudden she got involved, talking about herself (and like you said, trying to out-do my friend. What even, we were talking about how one of my classmates was being horrible about how my friend had been hold back. WHY DO YOU WANT TO OUT DO THAT). At first she was kind of at the other side of the room (but it was completely empty so she could hear us) and before we knew it, she was standing next to us and completely dominating the conversation like?? No?? Go away?? Or one time I asked another friend a question in class, and then she’d turn around and answer. Sorry needed to rant 😂
    Aww Evi you’re one of my favourite bloggers too! *hugs* And thanks for the tag 🙂 Speaking of which, don’t feel bad about taking a while to post this tag, I recently posted one that I was tagged for over a year ago lol. ALSO MOVE TO ANOTHER STATE SO YOU CAN GET THAT HEDGEHOG BECAUSE THEY’RE ADORABLE

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YAY Dodie is awesome aah. I’m 100% here for jazzy Death of a Bachelor covers. I would probably also take a Les Mis-related thing to a desert island, because I am stupid and because I like Les Mis a lot. I need sustenance to help me build a new utopia on this island, obviously haha. And thank you for the shoutout! *hugs* ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

