February’s Adventures | spaaaaace and casual flailing

I, evidently, haven’t done one of these since November. BUT I’M BACK. Six days late. But we won’t discuss that.

the only dramatic entrance gif I will ever need. | source

Life Etc

  • Honestly, not much. It’s like we’ve been really busy…but also not.
  • I already did a blog post on this, actually. I’ll just copy stuff from there, I suppose.
  • We watched The Hobbit…also I’ve somehow failed to mention this, but WE SAW STAR WARS AND IT WAS BEAUTIFUL THEY ARE ALL MY PRECIOUS SPACE CHILDREN
  • SPAAAAAAAAACE
  • Birthday! Haircut! New phone!
  • I organized my bookshelves, though that’s boring.
  • I WATCHED CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER AND IT WAS AWESOME AND PEGGY CARTER IS THE BEST AND I NEED TO WATCH ALL THE MARVEL NOW
  • My sister and I also watched Batman: Under the Red Hood which was awesome and intense for a cartoon? It also featured That Guy From Supernatural™ aka Jensen Ackles.
  • My birthday was in January! It was lovely. That is all.
  • I have so much motivation to do, like, actual art and writing and stuff, but then I try to do it and it all just flies away.

Music

Have I already done all these prompts with blog posts???? -_-

“Ophelia” by The Lumineers

“O-Ophelia, you’ve been on my mind girl since the flood/O-Ophelia, heaven help the fool who falls in love”

*enthusiastically takes ALL the opportunities to shove this song in your face*

“Spirits” by The Strumbellas

“And I don’t want a never-ending life/I just want to be alive/While I’m here”

THAT LINE IS THE BEST.

“Wait For It” by Leslie Odom Jr. and the Original Broadway Cast of Hamilton

“Love doesn’t discriminate between the sinners and the saints/It takes and it takes and it takes”

This may be my favorite Hamilton song….though it’s really hard to pick.

“Delilah” by Florence + the Machine

“It’s a different kind of danger/And my feet are spinning around/Never knew I was a dancer/’Till Delilah showed me how”

This song is just addicting. And really pretty.

Writing

me | source

*aggressively attempts to plot*

Reading

Fave book this month? It’s a tie between The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (♥♥♥♥½), Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg (♥), and Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (♥). THEY WERE ALL SO LOVELY & MAGNIFICENT IN THEIR OWN WAYS. The Rest of Us Just Live Here was witty and so, so meta and sweet and hilarious. Fried Green Tomatoes was ridiculously sweet and funny (bonus ’30s semi-girlfriends). Illuminae got kudos for the coolest book idea ever because SPACE. Also psycho computers reminiscent of HAL (2001: A Space Odyssey anyone?) and adorable space couples.

My favorite thing about this gif is that it could mean “spaceship” or “space ship” and how both are basically Illuminae| source

Best cover? Illuminae, definitely. HAVE YOU SEEN HOW COOL THE HARDCOVER COPY IS.

Currently reading? An ARC from Netgalley (thanks!) called And I Darken by Kiersten White. It’s female Vlad the Impaler, aka the inspiration for Dracula…so this should be interesting. And intense. And probably bloody. o.O

Blogging

I’m including January’s posts, too, since both months were fairly busy and I forgot to do a January wrap-up. 😀

I wrapped up 2015 and my year in blogging.

I reviewed the amazing book Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley.

I shared some of my goals for 2016.

I discussed the Internet/blogging community’s aversion to book-to-movie adaptations.

I reviewed the unique You Were Here by Cori McCarthy.

I participated in the Who Am I tag and flailed, a lot.

I shared some updates from my absence and did the Infinity Dreams Award.

I made a playlist of my current favorites in music.

How was your month? What happened? Anything to share? Happy March!

signature

8 thoughts on “February’s Adventures | spaaaaace and casual flailing

  1. STAR WARS WAS AMAZING. We ended up seeing it twice (despite the fact that we never watch anything twice in theaters) because there was just way too much to take in the first time. And I still need to read Illuminae…I got it for Christmas but I had so many books to read that I just never got around to it.

    Like

  2. ASDFJKL STAR WARS! I’m assuming you mean TFA, since, like, that’s the one in cinemas. I feel like a complete fake fun but…I actually ADORED it. ❤ (Also: Rainbow Rowell wrote a short story about people queuing up to watch TFA. It was brilliant.) Waaaait Illuminae is about SPACE?! I seriously need to read it. I've spotted it in my school library. *nods* And happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m aggressively pretending to plot myself, actually. XD It’S NOT GOING SO WELL. ahem. omggg, but I LOVE Illuminae! And The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It was so perfect and sweet and relatable and tragic. LOVED IT. But then Patrick Ness basically can do no wrong. *happy sigh* Also happy birthday for January! *hi fives for January birthdays*

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

