(Hopefully True) Predictions and Expectations for Winter by Marissa Meyer

(Quick, funny story: when I originally wrote this post I thought Winter was coming out in February. HAHAHA NOPE. It’s November 10. EEEK.)

WINTER IS COMING. *snerk* LIKE IN FEBRUARY NOVEMBER, BUT STILL. AHHHHH. Our final, glorious Marissa Meyer book is coming out in FOUR MONTHS EIGHT DAYS and I am unprepared for the excitement. The date kept being pushed back and back and I became an angry dinosaur.

Disney animated GIF
source

So this post is essentially me fangirling about everything and inserting all sorts of Frozen gifs, because WINTER, geddit?

It might be singnificant to mention that we also have an official blurb-

Goodreads 

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat the evil Queen Levana and find their happily ever afters?

*more flailing*

 THINGS I AM EXCITED FOR IN WINTER

It is apparently 800+ (!!!!!!) pages that will most definitely be filled with awesomeness and deceit and all sorts of lovely frosty stuff. But 800+ PAGES. That’s bigger than the fifth Harry Potter, I think.

movie animated GIF
source

-PRINCESS WINTER OMG. I was sooooo excited and happy when she was introduced and I mean, I knew she was getting a book, but she’s one of my favorite characters already. I’m so interested to see how she develops and how her character goes and just everything.

The blurb mentions revolution?

None animated GIF
(I had to break the chain of Frozen gifs because VIVE LA FRANCE) source

I am so, so interested in the American revolution and the French revolution and I just find them so intriguing. I want an awesome revolution in this book, peoples. (I mean, there’s 800 pages to do it.)

We’re getting there finale with Cinder AND Scarlet AND Cress AND  Winter! One of the things I love so much about this series is that it’s entirely female-focused. The women don’t just exist for the men, and sometimes it seems like the guys in the books are replacing the generic female role of being mostly absent. 🙂 (But at the same time they’re still well-written and 3-D, something that a lot of absent female characters don’t have.) Basically, the entire series screams “Girl Power” sooo realistically. They don’t try to hard to be like “girls should be leaders!”, they just MAKE them leaders. No questions asked. That’s one of the things I love so much about it.

disney animated GIF
source

The diversity. Ethnically and culturally this book excels. Cinder is Chinese, Scarlet is French, and Winter is described as having dark skin. The books are set all over the world, along with the characters, and it’s just amazing.

The setting! I mean, it’s set on the MOON. The goshdarn moon. That’s pretty cool. Along with that, the Lunar Chronicles does something I also don’t see a lot in many Dystopian novels- it involves the entire world. It’s not just one country with the rest disappointedly disappearing, it’s every country in the world. PLUS the moon.

happy animated GIF
source

One thing I’m not as excited for is the romantic diversity. I love the actual couples- they are all super realistic and sweet for some pretty crazy matches (heck, Cinder’s a cyborg and Wolf’s well…wolf-ish!).  I mean, the romance rocks- it’s not girl swooning after boy, it’s people who like each other but oops, there may be a war going on so we’ve got to deal with that. They’re not throwing all logic out the window so that they can kiss, they’re dealing with the problems that the world faces that are relevant to them and THEN being awkward ducklings about their love lives. They’re not trying to kiss in the middle of a bloody battle. (That’s like asking to get killed somehow, peoples. Why.)

request animated GIF
source

But it’s all pretty heteronormative. I want my queer couples! I want my ace people! If this world can have cyborgs and people who can make themselves look like anyone, they can sure have some other sexualities.

Maybe this isn’t just specifically this book, but all of the books, all of the ones being written. Marissa Meyer does pretty well in the field of diversity except for that part, but it’s important to be inclusive of everybody. And I know I’m also being picky because this book can’t be perfect, but it’s still something I wish for.

Have you read the Lunar Chronicles? Are you as excited for Winter as I am? What are your predictions? Comments? Wishes?

signature

11 thoughts on “(Hopefully True) Predictions and Expectations for Winter by Marissa Meyer

  1. Hahaha well at least it turned out it will be out sooner, and not later! Imagine you thought it came out this month, but it ACTUALLY came out in February 😦 That would be so disappointing! A+ gif use. No one will blame you for breaking the Frozen chain for a Les Mis gif (and if they do…REVOLUTION). Especially yes to your last two points! I miss the sexual diversity and I’m so happy the entire world is involved. It always annoys me that a lot of dystopians only seem to focus on the country it takes place in (usually America) Like what’s going on in the rest of the world???

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OMG OMG WINTER!!!!!!!!! Okay pretend I put something from your post that I liked in here because I can’t think straight right now and I liked ALL of it. Especially Kristoff. XD I PREORDERED WINTER OMG EEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! (Okay I’m weird and I’m freaking out but I don’t know you yet)
    To introduce myself… Hi! I’m Amy! Love your blog format! 😉
    -Amy (but then I guess I already said that)

    Like

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

