Beautiful Books #1 | in which I reveal a teensy bit more about my NaNo

It’s that time of year again!

source

Erm…no. BUT it is October, which equals NaNo prep, so Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In are starting up Beautiful Books!

bb-redone

  1. How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

I came up with the idea after reading a quote in my science class in about August-September ish?

“All things are poisons, for there is nothing without poisonous qualities. It is only the dose which makes a thing poison.”

-Paracelsus

I’d been wanting to write a retelling for a while, and so this got me thinking about poisonous humans, which got me thinking about a person  being the “spindle” in Sleeping Beauty, and then all sorts of stuff happened from there.

Basically, it’s developed from Sleeping Beauty retelling to less Sleeping Beauty retelling and more alternate universes in which magic is a thing and it can be sold and bought, and that includes magical people. Namely Ree. So she gets bought by this evil old lady (the fairy!) who wants her to kill/poison/something-or-other Talia, but then stuff happens.

2. Why are you excited to write this novel?

BECAUSE RETELLINGS. And very weird characters whom I don’t even understand, and potential evil fairies (I don’t even know if it’s gonna have fantasy elements yet or not o.O ) and conflicted small poisonous girls. Ack, the poor souls. I’m gonna have such fun torturing them.

3. What is your novel about, and what is the title?

Basically, it’s developed from Sleeping Beauty retelling to less Sleeping Beauty retelling and more alternate universes in which magic is a thing and it can be sold and bought, and that includes magical people. Namely Ree. So she gets bought by this evil old lady (the fairy!) who wants her to kill/poison/something-or-other Talia, but then stuff happens.

The title is, very loosely, Spindle. As of now.

4. Sum up your characters in one word each. (Feel free to add pictures!)

REE: lost.

TALIA: sweet.

EVIL FAIRY-LADY: cruel

5. Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write? Tell us about them!

TALIA! She’s kind of like Cosette from Les Miserables- but less completely sweet and more wickedly, crazily so. She’s super understanding and always there for everybody and is just adorable.

But crazy.

6. What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way?

HAHAHAHAHA I have no clue.

Really, though, I think Ree just wants to be free- she’s been auctioned off and had her magic siphoned from her and been forced to do all sorts of magical stuffs for obnoxiously rich jerks. What stands in the way? The fact that she can’t even escape all of that.

7. Where is your novel set? Show us pictures if you have them!

Alternate-universey-world yeah! I’m imagining it being very, very modern (like, not castles and wars and drawbridges) but still very undeveloped, in the way that there is still a lot of unexplored land. It’s being worked out very, very slowly.

8. What is the most important relationship your character has?

Probably with Talia, because Talia is sweet and caring. But at the same time, I think it’s also the Evil Fairy-Lady (she has no name yet, can you tell?) because even though she wants her to kill a girl, she’s also trying really hardly to make sure Ree is comfortable and happy, and so that’s really conflicting for Ree.

I am legit making some of this up as I go. Oh dear.

9. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Ree…I think that she actually becomes harder. She knows that the world isn’t good. She knows that she doesn’t have a chance. And sometimes she just wants to make a ginormous flower come out of the ground and curl up in it and cry, and I think that’s okay.

10. What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?

Jeez, Cait, that’s a deep question, I’m skipping it. I need more of a plot to answer that. XD

Bonus! Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.

  1. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A PLAN. I’m not a pantser- or at least I try  not to be- it’s always important to have some sort of cohesive plot. Otherwise, halfway through November, you’ll be sitting there with no idea what to do next and no inspiration.
  2. Connect with others! I’ve gotten some of my best plot points from friends also doing NaNo. They might have suggestions that you’ve never even thought of.
  3. Don’t stress. I cannot tell you how important this is. If you are doing it through YWP and don’t think you can do 50k- make your goal 20! Or 10! Mine was 8k last year because I knew that 50k was just unrealistic. If you don’t meet your goal, it’s not the end of the world. It may feel like it, but it’s not, and you will be okay. Either way, you pumped out part or all of a novel in a MONTH. That’s pretty awesome.

HAVe fun with NaNo this year, bloglings! I’ve got a plot to figure out and characters to create! What are your plans for NaNo? What’s your word-count Goal?

signature:

12 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #1 | in which I reveal a teensy bit more about my NaNo

  1. OMG A SLEEPING BEAUTY RETELLING!!! This looks so fabulous 😀
    For now, I’m saying my goal is 50K but in reality, I just want to get a big chunk of my WIP written during November (whether that’s 30K or 20K).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS ASDFJKL and Cosette is my love so like this sounds amazing. Oooh also that’s a really nice quote!
    I’m still deciding whether or not I should do Beautiful Books? Argh, I’m just FREAKING OUT BECAUSE MY SMALL IMAGINARY CHARACTERS WITH PRETENTIOUS NAMES BEING RELEASED INTO THE WORLD?!? Unpolished???! But I’m trying not to be a total pantser like I have done before. *coughs* I think I’m only aiming for 20k because school, but hopefully more haha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU!!! Cosette is adorable.
      DO NOT WORRY. Pretentious names are the best part. 🙂 This, like, entire post and story existence is just crazily unpolished and half-formed and there are probably a bajillion and one plot holes- I don’t even care anymore XD
      School always magically tends to be like “HAHA IT’S NANO? NOPE SUCKERS HERE’S NINETY HOURS OF HOMEWORK HAVE FUN”. *nodnod*

      Liked by 1 person

what's on your mind?

