NaNoWriMo Prep Has Begun | Beautiful People: September

It is officially about a month and two-thirds of another month away from NaNoWriMo. EEEEK. I have a very very very VERY vague story outline- basically a dystopian retelling of Sleeping Beauty? Not the Disney version, kind of an early mashup of the Giambattista Basile version (which is super creepy and definitely not Disney approved) and the one we basically all know, the Charles Perrault/Grimm Brothers/many others version. ANYHOW, it’s only got about half a plot, two- no, wait, three- characters, and vague French-ness. I’m not sure what’s happening.

I just realized that I don’t even have a name for the main character, goshdarnit. There’s Ree (Briar Rose/Aurora/Sleeping Beauty), whose name legitimately comes from the fact that the original spelling in the Perrault or Grimm version was Brier, so somebody teased her about it sounding like brie? The cheese, you know? And it sort of stuck. (And no, I definitely  didn’t just come up with all that off the top of my head, psshhh.) Then there’s Nik, who is really just a huge jerk and is basically the prince/king dude in the Basile version except here he’s evil because really, he should’ve been evil in the original as well. And then there’s the MC, who is literally the Spindle/flax from the stories. Originally, her name was going to be Via, but then I realized that a) all my characters can’t have three-letter names, and b) it sounds too much like I’m reblogging some tumblr text post.

I do hope you all understand that I’m being very trusting divulging all of my precious writing secrets to you. Not everyone knows how to procrastinate and uselessly stare at blank pages as much as I.

Oh, and spoiler: MC’s actually venomous/poisonous/whatever and is destined to kill Ree because of evil scientists.

source

Onto Beautiful People!

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

Beautiful People is a writing meme to help writers develop their characters. It is hosted by Cait and Sky. Each month there is a new batch of 10 questions.

1. They’re in a crisis: who would they really like to see right now?

Probably Ree, but at the same time she feels like Ree shouldn’t probably be there. Except Ree’s basically Cosette but deadlier and honestly everybody would want a Ree hug in a crisis.

2. Are they easy to get along with?

*snorts* Most definitely not.

3. Who was the last person they had a deep conversation with?

I don’t know, mainly because I haven’t actually written anything, but probably Ree.

THIS ENTIRE BOOK IS BASICALLY ABOUT REE AND MC BASICALLY.

4. They’re in the middle of a huge crowd of people: how do they feel?

Way too squished together and probably also hoping she doesn’t accidentally worry someone. I still have no clue how her actual ‘poison’ thing works. *shrug*

5. Do they believe in luck or miracles?

Most definitely not again. She’s probably just never thought about it.

6. Do they like and get along with their neighbours?

I’m 90% certain she’s on the run for most of the book… so no.

7. If they could travel anywhere in the world, where would they go?

Ooooh, asking the hard questions here. Um, Germany? France? One of these places is going to end up being where she’s from, so she’d probably want to end up going back there.

8. How do they feel about their body?

That it’s a weapon they don’t know how to control. Quite literally.

9. What is the cruellest thing someone has ever said to them? How did they react?

Still have no clue for any actual dialogue, but it was probably something Nik said.

Nik probably got punched.

I’m not entirely certain what Nik’s purpose is except for to be a jerk. Might want to work on that…

10. What’s the kindest thing someone has ever said to them? How did they react?

Probably something Ree said, and probably gaped in awe and then blushed.

That’s all, folks! There’ll probably be a lot of forthcoming NaNo updates- I’m participating in YWP because holy cow, 50000 words is a lot, I only made it to 8k last year. O.o

are you doing nano this year? Have you done this month’s beautiful people? what have been some of your wackiest/weirdest/just-plain-crazy story ideas? Name help???

signature:

13 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Prep Has Begun | Beautiful People: September

  1. This story idea is AWESOME. 🙂 Sadly, my NaNo plans are…well, basically nonexistent. I have two characters and a third or so of a plot, though, so that’s something…And I want to do Beautiful People this month, but haven’t gotten around to it. Soon, though.

    For names–I don’t have any French-sounding ones on my list of character names, so these may not fit, but a few unique-ish ones off the top of my head: Aster, Raine, Whisper, Shadow, Pearl, Jade. More common ones: Joy, Laurel, Alexia, Sonya, Annabelle, Isabel. Or try to find a baby names site that lets you search by initial or origin or whatever–those are helpful for this sort of thing.

    Like

  2. “Originally, her name was going to be Via, but then I realized that a) all my characters can’t have three-letter names, and b) it sounds too much like I’m reblogging some tumblr text post.” HAHAHA I FEEL YOU. I’m having name problems as well, but seems like Ellie has some pretty great ideas 🙂

    My NaNo plans are basically schizophrenia and nine year old John Watson so far. All I know right now is that Sherlock does not exist and John is going to have to go through a lot of heartbreak. Let’s see how that works out, ah well!

    Like

  3. All the best with NaNo! I’m joining myself this year, but I’m going to stretch myself and see if I can do it in two weeks. (Cait can finish in 10, so I reason this lowly minion will have to use a few more days than her.) Dark Sleeping Beauty retelling sounds SO INTRIGUING, though. Someone using their body as a weapon just makes me flail all the time because THE FEELS.

    Like

  4. OMG GIMME YOUR BOOK NOW (EVEN THOUGH IT’S NOT FINISHED) AND LET ME READ BECAUSE IT SOUNDS AWESOME. And I totally ship Ree and MC, I don’t know if I’m meant to or not but you can’t stop my shipping feels lol ANYWAY WRITE THIS BOOK SO I CAN READ IT BECAUSE DID I MENTION IT SOUNDS AWESOME?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ACK ACK ACK THANK YOU SO MUCH OHMIGOSH MICHELLE I AM OVER HERE SQUEEING EEEEEEEEEEEK
      I shall not say a word on the shipping thing- other than omg shipping feels- but I shall obnoxiously wink in your general direction. 😉
      Thank you so, so much, though! This is giving me so much motivation and it’s not even November yet. I MUST CONTAIN THE WRITING POWERS. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

