August’s Adventures

August is over! Ack! I apologize for the lack of posting- school has decided that I would be lovely for eating and has decided to devour me whole, but first it is seasoning me with a bajillion million projects and tests. I don’t think I will end up tasting good.

ONWARDS!

Reading

(link to Goodreads)

Angelfall by Susan Ee ♥♥ I am disappointed. I WANTED TO LOVE THIS BOOK, truly I did. But it did nothing. 😥

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken ♥♥♥ Eh. I didn’t understand half of the whole powers-thing. *shrug*

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo ♥♥♥♥♥ ALL THE STARS AND ALL THE HEARTS AND OMG I DID NOT EXPECT TO LOVE THIS SO MUCH.

*sings along to all the songs*

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest ♥♥♥♥ This was awesome. Princesses and webcomics and creepy dudes-wait, what?

Lumberjanes #1 by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, and Brook Allen ♥♥♥♥♥ Apparently there are 19 of these. HELP, Ms. Stevenson, your books are beautiful and I cannot spend all this money! 😐

Night of Cake and Puppets by Laini Taylor ♥♥♥♥♥ This was all the wonderness I expected and I loved it so. Zuzana is a beautiful tiny thing and she and Mik are adorable!

Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan ♥♥Terrible storyline in my opinion, but highlight for spoilers: Lisa and Leila were adorable, otherwise it would’ve just been one heart. 

Free to Fall by Lauren Miller ♥♥♥♥♥ I loved this! It was a totally random library pick and I’m so glad I found it. I actually understood the science, too! 😉

Rump by Liesl Shurtliff ♥  Eh again. This month seems to be one of either ‘eh’ books or ‘omg I love you so much’ books.

I only read 9 books this month! ‘Tis terrible!

Currently Reading:

I’m not reading anything right now, but I feel the need for some rereads, and then I am also going to start Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. Except it’s supposed to be sad, and right now I need happy. Any book recommendations?

Writing:

I have finally found an idea for my NaNo novel this year, and it’s mutated into a slight Sleeping Beauty retelling? IDK. I’m letting it fun free for now.

Music:

The entire Les Miserables original musical soundtrack and the entire movie soundtrack *nodnod*.

THIS SONGGGGGGG.

Blogging:

I freaked out about the fact that school has started.

I participated in Bridget’s Music Monday for the first time!

I received the Blogger Recognition Award (thanks again!).

I discussed character biographies and making them seem real (also, Les Mis).

My blog has an instagram! You can check it out here.

I talked about post types, and how sometimes I’ll post what I want, and that’s okay.

Michelle tagged me for the #WritersLife tag and it was sooo fun!

SO LITTLE POSTS, GUYS, I AM SORRY. EEP.

Life:

Um, school? Clubs? That’s really it. We’re starting a newsletter at my school and I’m soooo excited for it! Yay!

I also attended a good friend’s Bat Mitzvah, and I am so stinking proud of her. She made me cry, and it was very much worth it. There was also an awesome party afterwards with drums and fire men!

I attempted to take bookish photography for the bookstagram, and I still don’t understand how much/how/why to use hashtags. *sigh*

As you have now discerned, I read and watched Les Miserables. The amount of times I have listened to the soundtrack in a given day is probably astounding. 🙂

How was your august? Has school started for you? What exciting things have happened? Tell all, tell all!

signature

9 thoughts on “August’s Adventures

  1. Oh my goodness! You’re writing a Sleeping Beauty retelling-thingy? I wrote a prequel to Sleeping Beauty last year! We’re sharing brain waves. oo0o0o000o0o0o0o. So cool. Also, Les Mis is amazing . . . although I have yet to make it through the book, haha. See ya!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DO YOU HEAR THE PEOPLE SIING?!?
    I feel like, erm, all my comments lately have just been Les Mis flailing? BUT. My heart. ❤ (Do You Hear the People Sing is playing as I write this, haha — JOIN IN THE FIGHT THAT WILL GIVE US THE RIGHT TO BE FREEEEE.) (Also, spotting the comment above: oh gosh, Marius' nostrils, so many funny Marius parts. So sincere yet so oblivious, oh dear. :P)
    Argh, I've been so wanting to try Lumberjanes but I DO NOT KNOW WHERE TO FIND IT. *sobs* Your NaNo project sounds fabulous as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Evi, the thing about school is you have to fight it like a warrior, you are strong. You are smart. You will conquer. Easier said than done, but I believe in you. I had your attitude, until a great friend recently pulled me out of it with some good music, and encouragement. I BELIEVE IN YOU, EVI. GO FORTH AND CONQUER ALL THE THINGS. i know it’s difficult, but you are capable. You are beyond capable. 9 books? Not bad! For bookstagram, do your own thing, you don’t need to know all the supposed rules, just do your best and enjoy! I want to watch Les Miserables someday! Good luck, Evi! CONQUER!

    Liked by 1 person

what's on your mind?

