Characters, Mini-Bios, and Les Miserables

At first, I had no idea of what to blog about, and then I remembered that I was meaning to write up a thingy on character explanations and Les Mis and went “OOOOH YES LET’S DO THAT!” So anyway. I have finally finished the book, and watched the movie last night, and I LOVED IT SOOOOO MUCH ASDFGHJKL. They sang a lot, though! XD

Even if you haven’t read Les Miserables, you know that it’s pretty goshdarn long- it counts in at 655,478 words. Eek. Naturally, there’s some pretty impressive character descriptions in there.

source

For an example, let’s take a look at a description of Jean Prouvaire, or Jehan (his description takes up a half page, so it’s one of the shorter ones as opposed to the page-long Combeferre)

Jean Prouvaire was a still softer shade than Combeferre. His name was Jehan, owing to that petty momentary freak which mingled with the powerful and profound movement whence sprang the very essential study of the Middle Ages. Jean Prouvaire was in love; he cultivated a pot of flowers, played on the flute, made verses, loved the people, pitied woman, wept over the child, confounded God and the future in the same confidence, and blamed the Revolution for having caused the fall of a royal head, that of Andre Chenier. His voice was ordinarily delicate, but suddenly grew manly. He was learned even to erudition, and almost an Orientalist. Above all, he was good; and, a very simple thing to those who know how nearly goodness borders on grandeur, in the matter of poetry, he preferred the immense. He knew Italian, Latin, Greek, and Hebrew; and these served him only for the perusal of four poets: Dante, Juvenal, Aeschylus, and Isaiah. In French he preferred Corneille to Racine, and Agrippa d’ Aubigne to Corneille. He loved to saunter through fields of wild oats and cornflowers, and busied himself with clouds nearly as much as with events. His mind had two attitudes, one on the side toward man, the other on that toward God; he studied or he contemplated. All day long, he buried himself in social questions, salary, capital, credit, marriage, religion, liberty of thought, education, penal servitude, poverty, association, property, production and sharing, the enigma of this lower world which covers the human anthill with darkness; and at night, he gazed upon the planets, those enormous beings. Like Enjolras, he was wealthy and an only son. He spoke softly, bowed his head, lowered his eyes, smiled with embarassment, dressed badly, had an awkward air, blushed at mere nothing, and was very timid. Yet he was intrepid.

I’m afraid I can’t find the source, it was on one of those never-ending pic websites.

See how much we know about Jehan now? He’s obviously a very cutesy, flowery, poetry-writing guy. There’s also the fact that the last two sentences are basically me…

Anyhow, we get a really good feel of who Jehan is through this. Hugo isn’t just describing what he looks like, he’s describing how he acts, what he likes, his ideals, his loves, things he does regularly. So, I’d like to make that apply with your writing.

Write a superduper long bio for your character.

Like in Les Mis, try to explain all aspects of their personality. What do they like to do in the rain? Are they the type of person to write? What are their  ideals, their loves? Using a writing prompt book (like 642 Things to Write About, which is one of my favorites) to help you, maybe. Just put it all into a huge bio that goes beyond the standard biographies.

If you do it and want to share, I’d love to see it!

signature

21 thoughts on “Characters, Mini-Bios, and Les Miserables

  1. Congratulations! Reading Les Mis is a big accomplishment. I’ve been meaning to read it for a while but am so intimidated. What translation did you read? And do you have any tips for tackling it? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It took forever XD I read it in English, full length version from Barnes and Noble, and I guess my only is advice is to bear with it. You will finish the book knowing how people feel about their candlesticks, the sewer systems of Paris, and Marius’ eyebrows, but it will be worth it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG. Congrats on finishing Les Mis! So impressive! I remember reading it in December and how excited I was when I finished, so you must be over the moon right now. 🙂 So glad you thought it was worth it though! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    I dreamed a dream when time gone by…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I KEEP HEARING ABOUT LES MIS. I honestly need to know exactly what the fuss is about, and it sounds great! (eek, the size terifies me.) I’ve just started reading Game of Thrones, and honestly it’s big enough for me to murder someone with a hardback XD

    I would describe Indie as a ball of negative energy.
    T’IS SAD, BUT EH. Jared can even it out. xD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m French and still haven’t attempted to read The Miserable and probably never will. It seems like such a laborious book.What was it like? Besides, character who’s introduction look like a Wikipédia entry are such a turn off for me. But the main reason is that my TBR list is overloaded, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

