Introducing My New And Improved Bookshelf-ness/The Bookshelf Tag!

I am thieving (totally a word) this fantabulous tag from Nirvana, as I just got new bookshelves and they are BE-YOU-TEE-FUL. They’re brown, and don’t match with the rest off my (white) room, but ASDFGHJKL MORE SHELF SPACE *hugs the shelves and all the books*. Before, I had one super wide shelf at about half height, one tall-ish one, and one tiny thing that was technically supposed to hold baskets and/or CDs. THE BOOKS WERE OVERFLOWING, PEOPLE. GAH. But now I have these lovelies and- *gasp*- SPACE! *audience faints from shock*

my new and improved bookshelf-ness

DESCRIBE YOUR SHELF AND WHERE YOU GOT IT FROM.

DSCN0425

Like I said before, they’re brown and lovely. They were originally in a different room of the house, holding dolls and whatnot, so we packed up the dolls and gave them to me, giving my old bookshelves to my sister and the room where the dolls were. I LOVE THEM. ❤

HOW DO YOU ORGANIZE YOUR BOOKS?

DSCN0405

By color! For the standalones, anyway. My mom and sister scoffed at me not doing it by author but I DON’T CAAAAAARE this way makes them pretty. I apparently have a lot of black and white and blue books.

WHAT’S THE THICKEST/BIGGEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

DSCN0448

The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe. 1092 pages long. Whew.

On another note, it took 22 tries to actually get a good photo of that book. I am never taking photos in the dark like that again. It kept being all wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey!

WHAT’S THE THINNEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

Hailstones and Halibut Bones by Mary O’ Neill- a book of poems about the colors. It’s so thin it doesn’t even have a spine o.O

IS THERE A BOOK YOU RECEIVED AS A BIRTHDAY GIFT?

DSCN0450

Wonder by R.J. Palacio, a present from my Gran. I love that book. Also, the cover is magnificent.

IS THERE A BOOK FROM A FRIEND ON YOUR SHELF?

No, actually. I get most of my books for myself or from my parents. *shrug*

MOST EXPENSIVE BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

DSCN0454
cats!

I don’t actually remember, so technically these two. The Edgar Allan Poe one would be about $25, and the exclusive collector’s edition of The Book Thief  would be $20, but I got the former for $2.50 (antique store) and the latter for $3.99 (thrift store). Yay for bargain prices on fancy books!

THE LAST BOOK YOU READ ON YOUR SHELF?

DSCN0456

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. LOVE THIS BOOK TO PIECES. That’s all I can say. I wish I had some Oreos, now, though…

DO YOU HAVE A COMPLETE SERIES?

complete series collage

Rather than just one, I have multiple! *proudly displays books* the Splintered trilogy, the Redwall series (including the graphic novel and special edition set), the Fairyland series (well, all of them so far, I don’t know if there’s gonna be another), the Wildwood trilogy (*gasps* reusing pictures! how scandalous!), the Wondla trilogy, the Heroes of Olympus series, and the Tintin comics. Not shown: Percy Jackson & the Olympians, along with the Divergent trilogy.

WHAT’S THE NEWEST ADDITION TO YOUR SHELF?

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda again. ❤ ❤ ❤

THE OLDEST BOOK ON YOUR SHELF?

DSCN0466

The Earthsea Trilogy by Ursula K. LeGuin. It was my dad’s when he was a kid!

A BOOK YOU’D HATE TO LET OUT OF YOUR SIGHT (A.K.A NO ONE IS BORROWING IT. EVER.)

DSCN0468

My special edition copies of the first Redwall book. *hisses* my preciouses….

movie animated GIF

MOST BEAT UP BOOK?

DSCN0469

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. I actually had to read this for school, meaning it had to go through my locker AND my backpack every day. EEP. It’s pretty beat up.

MOST PRISTINE BOOK?

Eh, any new ones.

A BOOK THAT DOESN’T BELONG TO YOU?

DSCN0489

Two- City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire. Thank you, friend-who-let-me-borrow-them-for-the-summer. I promise I shall finish them soon.

A BOOK THAT IS YOUR FAVORITE COLOR?

DSCN0472

I don’t actually own a navy blue book (*cries*), but Melissa Marr’s Fragile Eternity has an indigo spine and back cover, and it’s pretty close.

A BOOK THAT’S BEEN ON YOUR SHELF THE LONGEST AND YOU STILL HAVEN’T READ IT?

DSCN0476

The Snowmelt River. I keep forgetting about it, poor thing. It’s been there for about two-three years and I am yet to finish it. 😐

OF ALL THE BOOKS ON YOUR SHELF, WHICH WAS THE FIRST YOU READ?

DSCN0480

Raggedy Ann and Andy and the Camel with the Wrinkled Knees by Johnny Gruelle. I don’t even remember what this is about, but I have a feeling it was one of the first books I read.

Since I wasn’t actually (ahem) tagged for this, I’m not going to tag anyone but instead everyone. If you want to do this, go ahead! If you don’t, then don’t!

Also, quick friendly reminder to take my blog survey! I still need more responses…. 😀 pretty please? Thanks, guys! I might have a surprise something coming later.

What are your bookshelves like? Do you think you might do this tag? ANY PHOTOGRAPHY HELP? I am terrible at taking photos in my dark, gloomy room (I kid, I kid. Mostly). 😉

signature

25 thoughts on “Introducing My New And Improved Bookshelf-ness/The Bookshelf Tag!

  1. Agghh now that both you and Nirvana have lovely bookshelves I’m feeling like I need to re-organise mine! SO PRETTY. ❤ Ooh, I've heard a lot of good thing about Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Hopefully I can get hold of it soon!
    Thieving sounds like a pretty legitimate word to me? If it's not real, then EH. I think use a lot of words that aren't actual words anyway, haha. (I also love your paper crane!)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I AM SO JEALOUS. *Hangs head* i would take a picture of my bookshelf but…but….I want a neeeewwwww oneeeee. Mine is super tall sns I have so many books all the shelves are taken up. Gahhhh. I love your shelves though! And I totally agree with color coordinating. ♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, I’m sorry I cam to this so late but things got super busy. THAT SHELF IS AMAZING GURL. I also seem to have a loooot of red books. Maybe because I’m super biased when it comes to book covers, eheheheh? So many pretties. So many books :’O
    Oh my the Tintin copies are pretty cool. AND SIMONNNN ❤ Your shelf is gorgeous, just saying. (If you haven't made that out by now 😉
    Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

