Ode to the Books I Need

I see you there, in the bookstore,

lining the shelves.

Hardcover beauties, paperback spines.

I say “yes”

my wallet says “no”

“you don’t have any money” it says

“you’re broke” it says

I sob endlessly, and resolve to just staying and watching

making lists

reading synopses

drooling over cover art

until, finally, I am dragged out the door, crying

“I’ll be back again someday”

This is basically the story of my life. Do you pine over books? Do you also always never seem to have enough money for all the precious booksies you love? Also, BLOG SURVEY reminder! I’ve got eight responses, guys, but let’s keep em rolling in!

signature

18 thoughts on “Ode to the Books I Need

  1. Ah, the horrors of the unbeknownst, of the fact that you have to LEAVE a book at the bookstore because you’re broke. LEAVE. Fancy that. It’s one of the greatest horrors of the world, and something completely not worth facing. I LOVE THIS OHMYGOD ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, heavens, YESSSSS. I used to be so horrible about spending every cent of my money on books, and I’d be shaking my wallet upside down at the counter to literally get EVERY penny I had in there. But in the past few months, I’ve been going to the library a LOT more often. Three or four times a week, probably, lol. Whenever I’m in the bookstore, I take pictures of the books I want so I never forget them. My new goal is to borrow books from the library and then buy the books I really love just to own. It’s a nice goal, but I’m such a sucker for a new book… 😉 Great poem!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know!!! I just want to buy ALL the books. 🙂 I love the library, but no matter how many times I request a book, they never have any new or good ones (that I haven’t yet read, anyway) -_- Haha, I just made a HUGE list (prob. about 100 books o.O) of all the books I want! Same, new books are just so pretty and fun, especially if you know they’re going to be awesome! Thank you!!!

      Like

  3. Oh yes yes! this is so true…. it is how I am right now…. at least second hand stores are cheaper! But still when you have no money….well it does not matter how cheap a book is… unless it is free… a rarity but it happens.

    Liked by 1 person

what's on your mind?

