Review: Nil by Lynne Matson | creepy islands and perfect couples

I liked…and disliked this book. There was a lot of weird stuff, and teenage romance (I am so done with this) and noticeable annoying details. BUT- if you look past all of that, it was pretty good. Let’s discuss. (links to Goodreads, as always)

*CONTAIN NO SPOILERS*

17225463

On the mysterious island of Nil, the rules are set. You have one year. Exactly 365 days–to escape, or you die.

Seventeen-year-old Charley doesn’t know the rules. She doesn’t even know where she is. The last thing she remembers is blacking out, and when she wakes up, she’s lying naked in an empty rock field.

Lost and alone, Charley finds no sign of other people until she meets Thad, the gorgeous leader of a clan of teenage refugees. Soon Charley learns that leaving the island is harder than she thought . . . and so is falling in love. With Thad’s time running out, Charley realizes that to save their future, Charley must first save him. And on an island rife with dangers, their greatest threat is time.

Here’s the stuff I didn’t like:

-Thad was freakily compassionate and protective of Charley after she faints, and he’s known her for what, two minutes?

-Within the first half of the book I counted three times in which they say “’I’m serious.’ ‘So am I.’”

-Charley and Thad were just too perfect. Thad was kinda insecure, sure, but other than that, Charley was the perfect super-supportive peppy happy girl and and Thad the mysterious but hot and actually super nice guy.

-At times, Charley seemed a lot younger than she was supposed to be- 17. It was just the way she talked, I guess- she sounded more like she was my age.

-Charley and Thad’s romance was mostly told, not shown. I didn’t feel it between them- they were a cute couple, I guess, but there were a lot of “I love you”s and kisses.

-Also, teenage romance. Ugh. I guess I’ve just kinda gotten sick of this because in life, what is the actual chance that you will find your “true love” at seventeen? Realistically, it’s older than that! Every now and then, you hear stories of high school sweethearts who ended up getting married, but nowadays people end up going all over the place for college and work, so we gotta stay realistic.

-There was a lot of stuff that got left open-ended. Where was Nil, anyway? What was the deal with Ramia and her prophecies? Highlight for spoiler: I thought Natalie died? How did she call Charley? What was the point of Bart’s whole storyline?

That seems like a lot. Ooops. However, like I said before, if you can bring yourself to look past all of that, it was pretty okay. The whole concept of Nil was interesting, and I loved the gates and Charley’s theories on them. Thad- perfect boy aside- was pretty cool, along with Rives, Natalie, Heesham- all of them. It drew me in to the world pretty well, and I didn’t put it down unless I had too. A nice, easy, fast-paced read.

jennifer lawrence animated GIF

Rating: 3.5/5 smilies

smiley face ratingsmiley face ratingsmiley face ratingsmiley face rating

signature

One thought on “Review: Nil by Lynne Matson | creepy islands and perfect couples

what's on your mind?

