Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass *contains spoilers*

I was so, so excited when I found out that there would be more books in the Selection series. I enjoyed the trilogy a lot, and even got to meet Mrs. Cass and get two of her books signed! And then I read The Heir, and was so, so sad that I ended up disliking it.

22918050

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins,one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

So.

LET’S TALK ABOUT EADLYN.

Eadlyn. She was a complete BRAT. She complained about everything, was crazy spoiled, a jerk, and then blames it on other people! She was rude to the boys as well- girl, at least be a little considerate. Just because you don’t like this competition doesn’t mean they hate it too.

She also just randomly snogged* that one boy, Marlee’s son? FOR NO REASON. And then went back to hating him right after? WHAT EVEN, EADLYN?!

I have no idea where this gif is from, but this is exactly what I looked like when I was little

*I blame too much Harry Potter and Doctor Who for using “snogged” instead of “kissed” and not even living in the UK.

I HATED EADLYN. SHE RUIINED THIS BOOK FOR ME.

Also, the love-decagon-y thing? I don’t even know anymore…

However…

-her siblings were actually cool, kind beings (learn from them, Eadlyn)

-it was awesome seeing America and Maxon and all the other characters again!

-they named a library after Celeste! My friend pointed that out as she was reading it at my house.

-Ean was an interesting character. He was really complex, I’m curious to see what happens to him in the next book.

-Henri. Just. OMG, Henri was the sweetest little darling ever. *hugs*

tumblr_m050y03iVL1rn95k2o1_400

-That other kid? Not the one who played guitar, the one she had dessert with (I think, honestly I remember nothing), the sweet one. I think his name started with a B. Anyway, he was nice.

It also seemed like Illea was a lot more modern than I remembered. There were cars, I think, and televisions, and videos. I didn’t remember any of that from the first books.

Overall, I just kinda thought this one was okay. Definitely disappointing, in my opinion. I’m going to read the rest of the series just to see if Eadlyn gets any less snobby and immature and what happens to the boys, but The Heir was not my favorite.

Rating: 2/5 smilies

3 thoughts on “Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass *contains spoilers*

what's on your mind?

