Cover Love pt. 1: Standalones!

There are some books out there with covers that just make me want to DROOL they’re so gorgeous, so I thought I’d put together two posts on some of my favorites! Part 1, as you can see, is standalone books, while part 2 will be series. 😀 Enjoy!

DSCN0257

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

THIS BOOK. AND THIS COVER. ASDFGHJKL. I really love the cover! The blues and the red truck (ohmigosh that truck) and the little skulls and stuff around the edges. IT’S JUST SO DARN PRETTY. stoppitbookyou’rekillingme

DSCN0263

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

I HATED THIS BOOK. But the cover is just sooooo pretty. The feather! And the writing! AND THE FEATHER. Did I mention the feather? And, oh look I put a crane in! (gettit…’cause she has wings…hehehe)

DSCN0258

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

For the longest time I thought his last name was “WesterFIELD”. I feel awful. I don’t know why. But anyway, let’s talk about the beaty that is this cover. The purples! And the inkiness that the raindrop is falling into! And the raindrop! Personally, I dislike it when the author’s name is bigger than the actual title, but this time I feel it was executed well. Also, do you like my little purple monster?

DSCN0259

Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

This book wasn’t my favorite either- but the COVER. I love the little paper prince and princess and how they’ve got the words on them, and I do like the purple and black sweater/shirt in the back too!

DSCN0260

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Just two words: STICKY NOTES. That alone looks cool enough. Plus it seems super real, how the flower is “taped” on and the finch is drawn and they’re all sort of peeling at the edges? I love the pastel-ish vibes, too!
DSCN0267

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

Basically everything Brian Selznick does is insanely beautiful. So is this cover. I love all the blues and clouds and the lightning and the city skyline at the very bottom. EVEN THE WORDS “WONDERSTRUCK” LOOK MAGNIFICENT.

DSCN0277

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

I just finished this book today and asdfghjkl all of the feelings. It’s so sweet and family centered and beautiful! I love the blue fish, too (AND OMG THEY’RE THE UNLUCKY PEACOCK BLUE) and the lucky red one! Also, I realize that my bookmark isn’t even of relevance since they’re Vietnamese in the book but it’s pretty so I don’t care. 🙂

DSCN0282

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

*coughs* I haven’t actually read this…*coughs* it’s really my sister’s. I scourged her bookshelves as well as mine for pretty book children. 😛 This one might be another of my favorite covers just ’cause the sunset and the silhouettes and the sooooo pretty words and the sunset and the sunset and the sunset!

What are some of your favorite book covers? TELL ALL, BLOGLINGS.

signature

11 thoughts on “Cover Love pt. 1: Standalones!

    1. Hahahaha! I know right, that’s what I do half the time. That “don’t judge a book by it’s cover” totally was never applied here… 😀 Sure you can! You don’t even have to give credit, it’s really a rather generic thing. But thank you!!!

      Like

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Aristotle and Dante for AGES bleeuuurgh my cover emotions are spilling all over again!
    All these covers are so beautiful. ❤ (I'm also liking the photo props as well!) Haha, I always thought Scott Westerfeld's name was something different, too.
    A confession: I have some books I've bought just for the covers that I, um, haven't even read yet. 😛 This is such a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always call him Scott Westerfield too. 😛

    OMG I love the cover of Afterworlds! I love all the covers here.

    Some of my favorite book covers are from the Skulduggery Pleasant series. 🙂 They’re so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love it how we all hear, “don’t judge a book by it’s cover,” BUT STILL DO IT ALL THE FREAKING TIME I MEAN LOOK AT THOSE COVERS. *swoons* Ari and Dante’s typography is so beautiful. AND THE BOOK. My emotions. And I’m feeling the urge to add Ava Lavender and Off the Pages to my TBR based on their covers. PRETTIES. <–why am I even so shallow like that XD

    Liked by 1 person

what's on your mind?

