Durham, North Carolina!

#WBNEDNC

So while I was on my crazy-long hiatus, my family and I took a weekend trip up to Durham, North Carolina! It’s where Duke University is located, and it’s a part of three “tri-cities” (I guess?)- Raleigh, Durham, and Chapel Hill. Anyway, during the summer it’s a completely empty little college town, so we got to see everything!

The Botanical Gardens

One of the things we did there was visit the Duke Botanical Gardens. They’re huge, and I took lots of pictures that I am pretty proud of, if I do say so myself ^-^

Yes, that is a random duck picture in there. They appeared to be hanging out, so we snapped a few pictures.

The Chapel

Duke University has the most lovely chapel ever- actually, the entire place’s architecture seems very Gothic, like something that could have been in a Harry Potter film. But the chapel is what most people hear about.

#WBNEDNC

Sorry it’s sideways- my camera and files were being really fussy and it wouldn’t let me change it. But isn’t it so pretty? They were doing some construction on it so we didn’t get to see more, but it’s super cool!

Before I Die…

By one of the Duke buildings and gift stores, there was a chalkboard wall that said “Before I Die..” and then had lots of fill in the blanks that said “Before I die, I want to…” Almost every single one was filled up and some of them were really cool!

#WBNEDNC
As you can see, some were even in different languages!

One of my personal favorites was below:

#WBNEDNC

If you can’t really see it, it says “Before I die, I want to find my own Percy Jackson.” I was grinning like an idiot when I found that one. If there was any chalk left, I would’ve written “get my Hogwarts acceptance letter”!

The Pit

The Pit was this super good barbecue restaurant that we went to on our last night there. I loved it because the barbecue sauce is not just one kind- there was a vinegar-y one that I love because I’m really not a fan of sweet barbecue sauces (blech). I swear I ate soooo much that night!

 Also, it won in a barbecue competition against Bobby Flay. Just sayin’. 🙂

I’m finally out of school! Have you been anywhere interesting recently? Do you have any plans for summer? Chat!

signature

4 thoughts on “Durham, North Carolina!

  1. Aaah that looks awesome! All those photos are wonderful. (Have you tried turning the photo around on the WordPress editor? There’s normally an option to do that.)
    The Before I Die board is such a wonderful idea, too – I love the one about Percy Jackson!
    YOU’RE OUT OF SCHOOL?!? I’ve still got another half term, including a week of internal exams. I don’t think we have big plans for the summer, but I’ve just been back from MCM comic con this morning and that was a lot of fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yup, I tried, ’cause I could’ve sworn I’d seen it before, but to no avail. 🙂
      Yeah, school’s out! We start early, though, I guess, in August. Good luck on exams! Oooh, what was the comic con like? I’ve never been to one.

      Like

      1. Maybe click on the pencil in the wordpress editor? I’m not too sure, ahaha.
        We start in September, so that makes sense. Thanks! I had an awesome time at MCM – it was just a really nice atmosphere 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

what's on your mind?

