Weekly-Wrap Up #7

where books never end weekly wrap up

Hey, guys! I posted somewhat this week, but the last two days I’ve been super busy! So here’s this week’s wrap up!

Blogging:

Sunday: Lyric Medley Tag (kinda)

Monday: no post!

Tuesday: Stacking the Shelves

Wednesday: #YearofHappy: February Prompt

Thursday, Friday, and Saturday: no post!

I want to put book reviews of All The Bright Places and The Raven Boys out there, along with Red Queen, if I finish it this week. I also would like to do a nomination post for Michelle at The Writing Hufflepuff’s Book Awards! Go check out her post, it’s a super cool idea! I also want to do a Music Medley, as there has been a lot of songs on my mind. 🙂

Reading:

I have read many books since we’ve last seen each other. 😛

MANY BOOKIES. <3
MANY BOOKIES. ❤

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter: This was such a disappointment. Highly unrealistic (other than the secret training school for spies part) and cliche. 😦 I wish I had enjoyed it.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater: GAH GAH GAH THIS BOOK. *flails ecstatically* It wasn’t as good as The Darkest Part of the Forest, but definitely 4 stars+. Wonderful writing, wonderful everything. And major plot twists. Expect a review!

Ensnared by A.G. Howard: This was definitely the conclusion we all had been looking for. I mean, once you got further in the ending was kinda predictable (highlight spoiler: Well, you knew she was going to have to split Jeb and Morpheus some way, as it was literally tearing her apart). And MORPHEUS. I equally wanted to slap him and hug him and punch him throughout this book. He’s just so much sass to be acceptable XD. And Jeb- despite how it started out, as the book proceeded, I actually liked Jeb a lot more. He seemed to have more of a developed character.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black: *FLAILLLLLLLLS* click here for my review and more flailings. And pretty pictures.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven: The Fault in Our Stars, just with suicide. A sad and lonely and beautiful book.

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfield: In the words of one of my good friends: DARYGENNNNNNNN. I ship it. 😀 I personally feel like Lizzie’s story was told better than Darcy’s, though I preferred Darcy’s because it’s hard to fall asleep after thinking about terrorist attacks and creepy psychopomps (THAT WORD THOUGH) singing “Come down, come down, whoever you are…”. That part seriously freaked me out.

The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys by Gerard Way and Shaun Simon: This was a comic-book follow up to My Chemical Romance’s album and music videos for Danger Days. And it was beautiful. I devoured it in pretty much one sitting, and then my friends who I let borrow it did as well. Beautiful art and interesting story and just GAH.

Writing:

I did some more pre-NaNoWriMo planning with Scarlett (she is a wonderful being who made an entire timeline for planning [I might do a post on that]), and made a Pinterest board for my novel. I love finding people who fit my character’s description, and bedrooms and houses and all that. My story’s going to be set in Bar Harbor, Maine, near Acadia National Park. I went there for break recently and it is absolutely BEAUTIFUL up there. 😀

My friend is also hosting a short-story compilation and so I might post the one (or multiples) that I’m submitting here. 🙂

Music:

We saw Wicked recently (SO GOOOOOOD [gah did I just make an unintentional reference]) and it was wonderful. We also got the original Broadway performance CD, and my favorite songs are “Defying Gravity”, “Popular”, “For Good”, “Dancing Through Life”, and “No One Mourns the Wicked”. Or I could just say the entire soundtrack XD

I’ve also become obsessed with Rubblebucket’s song “Carousel Ride”. My dad introduced it to me through NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert with them which he heard on his way to work. It’s such a catchy song! He prefers their Tiny Desk Concert because he doesn’t like the funky noises made in the original, but I like both. And then you can watch the music video:

Apparently it’s about them working at a chocolate factory and discovering that it’s made from the blood of a pink fluffy alien thing and then them rescuing it, but I don’t know. It’s another one of those totally mind boggling videos *cough*Little Talks*cough* XD

Life:

Not much happened, actually. I had school (no duh) and surprisingly not a lot of homework (a rarity). We went and saw Wicked, but I already mentioned that. Our Girl Scout troop did cookie booth sales, which was fun! We also got our Journey project approved, which I’m super excited for. It’s an I Am Wall, in our school, except we’re doing it on canvas. We want to ask the students who they are and then put them on a ginormous poster with this poem in the middle:

Read the poem and try not to cry. It is beautiful. Credit goes to Madisen Kuhn, and you can find more of her poetry here.

Anyhow, that’s been my week! How has yours been? Comment!

signature

10 thoughts on “Weekly-Wrap Up #7

  1. Suuuper glad that you liked Fabulous Killjoys, since I’ve heard some pretty mixed stuff about it. Most of the people giving it poor reviews hadn’t watched the videos or heard the album, though, so that may be part of it…. I want to read it so much, but my library doesn’t have a copy! That means I’ll have to buy it, and I was kinda nervous because I wasn’t sure how good it would be, but if you liked it so much, then maybe I will go for it 😀

    (Sorry for my fangirly comment. I just want to read it really badly :P)

    Like

  2. OOH, OOH, ENSNARED. I’m halfway through Splintered to see what the hype was about (and that jaw-droppingly gorgeous cover too <3) and it's been epic so far!

    That poem is beautiful. I love it ❤

    Like

what's on your mind?

