Stacking the Shelves

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Team Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing what books you’ve added to your shelves, physical or virtual. Click here for more information!

I have absorbed more books! Yay! There is nothing better to do than write blog posts and listen to the soundtrack for Wicked. Love that musical. Costco is marvelous for book deals, as is Goodwill (though one is considerably cheaper). Also, my bff was giving away some books and I snatched one. Thanks, Scarlett!

DSCN0087[1]

Cloaked in Red by Vivan Vande Velde:

This is the book I got from Scarlett. I borrowed it from her ages ago, and it’s pretty much a compilation of variations of the Little Red Riding Hood story. Though the foreword is the best, she completely mocks Little Red Riding Hood’s stupidity and it’s very entertaining.

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter:

I slowly munched down on this one as one who is eating a food they dislikes would. It was not that great. Two stars-three at the most. But ah well. It was only a dollar fifty, a Goodwill find.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven:

I have devoured this already. And it was beautiful. Think of it as The Fault in our Stars, but with suicide. But wow. That was really good. I got it at Costco for $11, which ROCKS.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman:

I had borrowed this book at my school’s library and thoroughly enjoyed it (I mean, DRAGONS. SHAPE-SHIFTING DRAGONS). So when I saw it at Goodwill, I was like, “Mine. No one touchy. My precious.” XD

The Book Thief (Exclusive Collector’s Edition) by Marcus Zusak:

I already have two copies of this (well, my family does, anyhow): one in paperback and one in ebook form. BUT IT’S A SPECIAL COLLECTOR’S EDITION HOW COULD I NOT RESIST. AND FOR $3.50!!! That’s a steal, people.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard:

I’m reading this right now. It’s pretty good, actually, but currently nothing special. That’s one of the things I’ve heard- that it’s not special, but gets a lot of hype. Ah well. I’ll see what I see afterwards. 🙂

So, bloglings, what books have you devoured lately? Did they taste good?

signature

7 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves

  1. Confession: I have two copies of The Book Thief (not the collector’s edition, though!) and I STILL haven’t gotten around to reading it. 😛 I’ve just heard so many wonderful reviews – I think it’s one of those books you have to save for the right time, you know? A rainy day, shall we say. 😉

    Also, fun coincidence: I just checked out All the Bright Places from the library and it looks incredible, so I can’t wait to start reading that if it’s all that good!

    Like

  2. All the Bright Places was such an amazing book! It wasn’t really the type of book for me, but I can’t deny that it was impactful and SO well written. Seraphina is also such a wonderful book. I love how rich the world building in Seraphina is, and I also loved how stunning the plot twists at the end were. Ooh, and The Book Thief is one of my favorites. I love historical fiction in general, and the style and perspective of this book made it one of the best historical fiction books I’ve ever read.

    Like

    1. It was indeed! So sad, but beautifully written. Yes, the world in Seraphina is awesome! Super cool. And major plot twists. 😉 My favorite thing about The Book Thief is the writing style- it’s both honest and lyrical and crisp and humorous and just beautiful, and I’m not even a big historical fiction fan. XD

      Like

what's on your mind?

