Review: The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black: contains no spoilers!

20958632Book: The Darkest Part of the Forest

Author: Holly Black

Source: Barnes & Noble

Summary: Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.

Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

As the world turns upside down, Hazel tries to remember her years pretending to be a knight. But swept up in new love, shifting loyalties, and the fresh sting of betrayal, will it be enough?

Contains no spoilers!

So.

This book had me like:

So yes. That was my initial reaction after finishing this book. Because WOW. Can we just applaud Holly Black’s writing here for a second? I think I liked this more than I liked The Coldest Girl in Coldtown (which I loved). Let’s start out with the characters, shall we?

Hazel: Hazel was terrific! I started off the book thinking I would dislike her, but all of that changed as things happened. She was so cool, and the whole knight thing was pretty sick. I loved how she and Ben fought evil together, him enchanting them and her being the knight. Girl power yeah! And the whole thing with her being a knight at night (hey that rhymes) was WICKED. Creepy, and cool, but wicked.

I made

Ben: Oh Ben. Ben was possibly my favorite character. He was LGBTQ+, which was awesome as it needs to be in more books. I thought it was cool how he had the musical talent, and he and Hazel went around killing evil monsters and all that. 😛 When he broke his hand though that made me super sad like “BEN NOOOOOO”.

Severin: Severin was sassy and snarky and rude and wonderful. He was my other possibly favorite character. Highlight the following for spoiler: And I ship Ben and Severin sooooo bad (so therefore I loved the ending). He was defiant and just PERFECT. I have no words for Severin.

Jack: I thought it was so cool that they included a changeling character, but made it so it had his human version as well. He was kind and adorkable and sweet, but also showed his fey side quite often: with his mom (who was creepy) and when giving Hazel warnings. Highlight spoiler: When he and Hazel went to the fairy revel together, that was really interesting, because it introduced his fairy side, but also showed how much he enjoyed being human as well.

Now can we talk about Holly Black’s writing. It was beautiful and poetic and wicked and deadly and harmonic and just GAH. Absolutely lovely. And that poem below? It gave me the creeps, but was so cool.

I made
Image courtesy of dan at FreeDigitalPhotos.Net

I don’t seem to do very well at book reviews… but I did enjoy making lots of pretty pictures with canva.com, which is an awesome site for photo/design. Much thanks to Emily @ Books & Cleverness for doing this post, which shares Canva and explains its wonderfullness. So be expecting more of that. 🙂 Also, no Weekly-Wrap Up post today, I ran out of time. But hope y’all had a great week!

6 thoughts on “Review: The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black: contains no spoilers!

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

