My Hero Monday

mhm2

Today I’m linking up with Chloe at Free As a Girl With Wings for her My Hero Monday feature! As she puts it:

It celebrates female heroes in our society, and promotes learning about new heroes.

I’m very excited to do this for the first time! Thanks, Chloe! I suppose I’m sort of tweaking this a bit, because this month’s theme is a “hero you don’t know much about”, and I know a lot about this person as an actress, but almost nothing about her as a feminist, so that’s what I’m focusing on.

Name: Emma Watson

Birthday: April 15, 1990

School(s): Brown University

When did I first hear about her? 

Well, I saw Emma Watson the first time when I watched the first Harry Potter movie. She’s a really great actress! I heard about her speech about feminism and gender equality a couple of months ago, I guess? Not entirely sure when.

What makes her one of my heroes?

I just think it’s amazing what she’s doing. She’s a very famous actress, and yet while she’s probably quite rich, is still wanting to do something. Her fame is adding on to the impression that she’s giving. And what an impression that is. She started HeForShe, a movement to spread gender equality between women and men. It was a focus in her United Nations speech. As of Saturday, January 3rd, at 1:51 PM, 203, 239 people have agreed to help gender equality. It’s amazing that she’s doing this, and I hope it does bring about change in the world.

Quotes:

“I have realized that fighting for women’s rights has too often become synonymous with man-hating. If there is one thing I know for certain, it is that this has to stop.”

“In my nervousness for this speech and my moments of doubt, I’ve told myself firmly, ‘If not me, who? If not now, when?’”

“How can we effect change in the world when only half of it is invited or feel welcome to participate in the conversation?”

“We need more of those and if you still hate the word [feminist], it is not the word that is important. It’s the idea and the ambition behind it.”

And this one, by far, is my favorite:

“Both men and women should feel free to be sensitive. Both men and women should feel free to be strong… It is time that we all perceive gender on a spectrum not as two opposing sets of ideals.”

We applaud you, Emma, for doing this.

Thank you, Chloe, for hosting this! I’m so glad I did it!

8 thoughts on “My Hero Monday

  1. Yes yes yes to Emma Watson. She’s sweet, caring, a feminist, the kind of person who’ll speak out in what she believes, and an /amazing/ actress. Emma’s UN speech was amazing too ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

