Stacking the Shelves: Christmas (and the library)

stacking-the-shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing what new books added to your possession, physical or virtual.

Hello there! I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas (if you celebrate it, of course). I, for one, did! I got many lovely items such as a miniature version of the Eleventh Doctor’s sonic screwdriver, which lights up and makes a very sonic screwdriver-y noise, and is now possibly a favorite gift. 🙂 Also, I got Prismacolor markers (which are so cool!!!), a new camera that actually takes decent pictures, and a Doctor Who poster. Among other things. How was yours?

Along with those gifts, I got a few books, not many though. I also went to the library, where it seems the check-out ladies know my sister and I and have figured out that I read quite fast (Engie posted the link to a thing that measures how fast you read– on a passage from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, I’m apparently 313% faster, though on another passage I was 249% faster. I guess it depends on if you’ve read it before, as I’ve read tWWoO before). But here’s my bookish haul!

For Christmas:

  

Ready, Set, Novel! by Chris Baty, Lindsey Grant, and Tavia Stewart-Streit

 My sister got this for me and I can’t wait to use it! It’s by the people who do NaNoWriMo, and I was flipping through it and saw all sorts of good stuff.

Who-ology by Cavan Scott and Mark Wright

All things Doctor Who just makes it amazing. I read it already (even though I have no clue about half of it as I haven’t seen Old Who and I’m on Season 2 of New Who) and it’s filled with all these great facts. For example, does anyone know how many times the Daleks have shrieked “Exterminate!” or something along those lines? Closest answer gets (virtual) blue cookies. 🙂

The Penderwicks Boxed Set by Jeanne Birdsall

Thanks to my grandma for this one! I haven’t read any of The Penderwicks and they seem positively lovely!

I think that’s it of my Christmas books…

From the library:

  

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

I’m so glad I was able to get this one, as I LOVED IT. I didn’t have much love for Paper Towns or Looking for Alaska, but I loved An Abundance of Katherines. So good. ❤

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I’ve heard great things about Stephanie Perkins’ books, and after I read Lola and the Boy Next Door, even if it wasn’t my favorite I knew I wanted to read the others. Excited for this one!

Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr

I read Wicked Lovely and while it had the same reaction as Lola and the Boy Next Door, I just couldn’t not read the rest after a cliffie like that :P.

  

Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr

Well, they had both Fragile Eternity and this one, so why not get both?

Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

For having a (small) mysterious blurb, I was intrigued by this one (and its pretty cover).

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Ahhh this one seems like fluffy contemporary adorableness. Very excited!

  

Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr

Also in the Wicked Lovely series…though I have no clue if it’s the third, fourth, or fifth.

The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

I keep seeing this one, and while I don’t really get what it’s supposed to be about, it seems interesting enough.

Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord

Again, this keeps popping up so I had to get it. 🙂

What new books have you added to your shelves this week? Comment below!

signature

5 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Christmas (and the library)

  1. Haha! I told people not to buy me books this year because I already have about 40 to read, so I only got a Wreck this journal and a book of poetry XD. But now I have some christmas money and no idea what to spend it on- waterstones may be coming my way ;3

    Like

what's on your mind?

