The Blood of Olympus Book Review *contains MAJOR spoilers*

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Blurb:

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Source: Goodreads

My Rating

smiley face ratingsmiley face ratingsmiley face rating

3 out of 5 smilies

I am kind of disappointed with this book.

*hides from fangirls*

Don’t get me wrong, I loved it, there were just a lot of things I disliked, too.

Leo

Okay, Leo was my major dislike. He just got really annoying in this book! It was kind of like the jokes never stopped coming (and they weren’t necessarily good jokes either). He never really seemed to get serious. Also, it didn’t really seem like Leo would have this huge plan for saving the world- it didn’t fit with the rest of his character. It seemed kind of mean that he got the most credit and he didn’t actually sacrifice anything.

The Battle

THIS WAS ANNOYING. You have five books, I suppose five more if you want to include PJO, and it’s what, 8 chapters out of 58? Seriously? The battle in the Last Olympian wasn’t as “big” as this one, and it was pretty much the entire book. Another thing was Gaea (she also seemed kind of puny compared to Kronos, and she’s his mom). She didn’t really scare me, or worry me, or anything. She was freakier when she was talking to the demigods, and then they actually meet her, and defeat her in a chapter. One puny chapter. Out of 58. Jeez.

No One Died

It just kind of seemed a little bit unrealistic to me that no one (on the good side, at least) died. Like, died-died. Leo doesn’t count. I kind of am assuming that this was a much bigger battle than The Last Olympian but lots of people died there and oh looky, no one’s dead!

Percy and Annabeth

What happened there? It was kind of like they got pushed out of the way the entire book! It seemed odd that they wouldn’t get a point of view…

Now that we’ve gotten my dislikes out of the way, here are my likes!

fangirl mode activate

Nico and Reyna’s friendship

tumblr_m050y03iVL1rn95k2o1_400

This was possibly my favorite part of the book, Nico and Reyna’s p.ov.s and traveling with Coach Hedge. Reyna and Nico were like brother and sister, it was so adorable. So I want to hug them. 🙂

Nico

He’s my favorite character, what can I say? I loved his pov. I also liked Will Solace *wink*.

The Gods

The gods and their kids teaming up together to fight the giants was pretty cool, though it irked me a little that that was the scene on the cover. Shouldn’t it be Gaea, or them fighting Gaea, since that’s the entire point of the book?

So here’s my review!!!

signature

2 thoughts on “The Blood of Olympus Book Review *contains MAJOR spoilers*

  1. I too was disappointed a with a whole lot of aspects of the book, but I was so happy about many things too. I wish there was more Frank or Hazel. I also thought that the scene with Gaea was… rushed? She was barely there, and they defeated her kind of easier than I expected.
    The Nico/Reyna friendship omg that was the best out of anything I really loved it.

    Like

    1. WHY DID I NEVER REPLY TO THIS I’M SO SORRY *hides* Basically I was curious as to what I wrote ’cause I’d forgotten and then I saw one lonely comment… SORRY SORRY SORRY!
      Frank and Hazel are the cutest asdfghjkl; Yes yes yes that is exactly how I feel! It was soooo rushed.
      NICO AND REYNA ARE MY ULTIMATE BROTP they were just the cutest little darlings!

      Like

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

