Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

 

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme created by The Broke and The Bookish. You can find all the awesome details right here.

wildwood imperiumfourthe two towersthirteen reasons why

1. Wildwood Imperium by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis: I actually bought this…so I will end up reading it at some point or another. I loved Wildwood, but Under Wildwood got kind of slow and boring, so I have mixed feelings.

2. Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth: My friends are all excited with their signed hardcover copies and I’m just thinking that after that awful end to Allegiant and a very bad movie (compared to the book) and a book that wasn’t my favorite in the first place…well, I don’t know.

3. The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien: This is another one I will end up reading, because my dad is making me so I can watch Return of the King…but I’ll just say it: I like the LotR movies much more than the books. The books, to me, just seem long and slow and drawn out. With lots of unnecessary songs. I actually started the series in, I think, fourth grade? but never got past this one. *sighs*

4. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher: This seems really interesting, but also kind of…dark. And depressing. And I’ve seen multiple bad reviews, so…

   escape under the forever sky fan art percy jackson's greek gods shiver

5. Escape Under the Forever Sky by Eve Yohalem: This one I borrowed from Scarlett (no, that’s not her real name. She’s my Real Life best friend) but I’m not sure if I’ll read. So this girl has to stay in her house all the time in Ethiopia, and apparently complains about it: Well, there’s got to be a reason, sweetheart. Trust your mother. And then she gets fed up, runs away, and gets kidnapped? Idiotic girl. Who knows, once I read this maybe my feelings will change, but…

6. Fan Art by Sarah Tregay: I’ve heard mixed reviews on this one. A bunch of people say it’s great and cute and fluffy, and then others complain about how the MC, Jamie, is stereotypical and whiny. So…I don’t really know.

7. Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan: Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the PJO/HoO fandoms and books. But if this book is illustrated by the same guy who did the Demigod Files and The Demigod Diaries, I might just lose all hope.

8. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater: I have heard wonderful things about this series, but the whole wolf-werewolf thing just doesn’t do it for me. It’s like the whole vampire thing. Ugh.

amber houseshadow and bone

9. Amber House by Kelly Moore, Larkin Reed, and Tucker Reed: I have honestly don’t know about this one. I borrowed it from Scarlett, but she says it’s scary and she never finished it, and I just…scary books…no. BUT the blurb was interesting and I kind of want to read more…

10. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: I want to read this and I don’t want to read this. Everyone I know has RAVED about it (and the cover looks cool) but when I tried a sample on my Kindle, it seemed kind of…slow. And dull.

Any comments? Good books versus bad books?

signature

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. I haven’t read any of the others, but I have read Thirteen Reasons Why and it’s one of my favorites. I like really depressing books though. It’s one of those sticky books that you’re always thinking about, which is another thing I like.

    Like

  2. I’m not sure if *I* want to read Shiver and/or Four, either! :/

    I /love/ the LotR series, but I’ll totally admit that it’s really looooong. And The Two Towers is my least favorite of the trilogy. 😛 But stick with it, there are some REALLY amazingly well-written characters in RotK, like Faramir and Denethor and aaaah it’s so cool. 😀

    Also, I have Fan Art checked out from the library right now and I’m going to read it after I finish just a few other books… I hope I like it!! 🙂

    Like

what's on your mind?

