Fifty-Five Questions about Books and Reading

I spotted this at Musings from Neville’s Navel, and thought I’d give it a try.

1. Favorite childhood book?

Oh dear that’s hard. Hmmm…probably The Tale of Despereaux by Kate Di Camillo. I loved that book. A lot. And these others: Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator and Matilda by Roald Dahl, and the Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene.

 2. What are you reading right now?

Ha. I’ve only got one, for once- The Once and Future King by T.H. White. I have to read it for school, along with another book, and school starts in about three weeks! Eep! And on top of that I have a (rather large) math packet…Sorry. I’m rambling.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

None, actually…

4. Bad book habit?

Reading multiple books at a time. I’m generally able to keep them straight in my head.

5. What do you currently have checked out of the library?

A lot. I’ll list a couple. Curse of the Thirteenth Fey by Jane Yolen, Fallout by Todd Strasser, Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins (is this good? I thought it seemed a bit too mushy for my type, but I read good reviews..), SPUD by John Van De Ruit, Breaking Point by Kristen Simmons, and a graphic novel: Baby’s in Black: Astrid Kirchherr, Stuart Sutcliffe, and the Beatles by Arne Bellstorf. Oh gosh that was a long list.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

Yes. I have, like, the first generation of Kindle (it’s HUGE). But since I don’t buy a lot of books on it, it’s rarely used unless I want to read a classic.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once?

See question 4.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

Hmmm…probably. I’m open to a lot more reviews and I think it’s “broadened my horizons” a little.

9. Least favorite book you’ve read so far this year?

Eragon by Christopher Paolini. Ugh. I loved it until I read The Fellowship of the Ring. Then I was just mad. It pretty much takes a lot of detail from that, and a couple other books/movies other people have mentioned.

1o. Favorite book you’ve read this year?

WHY MUST YOU FORCE ME TO ANSWER THIS? THEY’RE (mostly) ALL AMAZING! *huffs* Fine. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, The Fault in our Stars by John Green, The One by Kiera Cass (whom I got to see!),  Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (I NEED TO DO A REVIEW ON THIS IT WAS AMAZING!!!), and A Hero for Wondla by Tony DiTerlizzi.

11.  How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Not a lot…I don’t like books with a lot of cursing, or gore/extreme violence, and I really dislike infodumps…

12.What is your comfort zone?

I like a lot, I guess. My favorites are definitely fantasy- ALL kinds of fantasy- and realistic. Every now and then historical. Dystopian too.

13. Can you read in the car?

Yes. I feel bad for all the bookworms who get carsick when they do. What do they do on long-distance trips?

14. Favorite place to read?

My bed. Obviously. It’s just so comfy.

15. What is your policy on book lending?

I lend out my books. Mainly to family and close friends, people I trust. Occasionally I’ll lend it out to a friend that I don’t know as well. But I set strict conditions for people who I know dog-ear pages or are careless.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?

NEVER. It’s a nasty habit.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of books?

No, unless it’s for school.

18. Not even with textbooks?

My middle-school textbooks are lent out from the school…so no. My math one we bought, but it’s being given to my younger sister…so no.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?

English. Only one I know.

20. What makes you love a book?

Realistic/justplainamazing characters, intricate plotline, setting, description. And (obviously) good writing.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

Go up one.

22. Favorite genre?

See 12.

23. Genre you rarely read but wish you did?

In fiction? Historical.

24. Favorite biography?

I honestly don’t remember. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction, but I know there’s one that I’ll suddenly remember later…

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

I guess, yes. For school. It’s always for school.

26. Favorite cookbook?

Sorry. I didn’t realize I should read those too.

Actually, my mom’s copies of The Homemade Pantry and Make the Bread, Buy the Butter. Only because the authors tell interesting stories in between recipes.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?

I have three! Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (fiction), Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (fiction), and Speak Love by Annie F. Downs (non fiction).

28. Favorite reading snack?

I don’t really eat when I read…I hate seeing crumbs between the pages. I do like to drink tea, though.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.

Both these books are books that I love, just didn’t really think were SUPER exceptional. My friends and I were so excited for The One by Kiera Cass when it came out, but honestly? There were some parts that disappointed me a little. And The Hunger Games. I was the only one of my friends that hadn’t read it, and it wasn’t my favorite piece of literature so far. Yes, I liked it, I just didn’t think it was superbly fantabulous.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?

Eh…I’d say most of the time. Sometimes I do like books other people think are bad.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

I haven’t posted a bad review yet on here, though I did rate Eragon one star on goodreads.com, and I should do a review of that.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, what language would you choose?

Probably Latin. I’ve always liked Latin (but yes, I am Camp Half-Blood).

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?

Uhhhh…

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?

Uhhhh…

35. Favorite poet?

Shel Silverstein. I know, I know. But I love his poems.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at a time?

Anywhere in between 10-20.

37. How often have you returned books to the library unread?

Well, if I haven’t read it, I generally renew it…if I have a free week none if I’m a little busy maybe 2-3.

38. Favorite fictional character?

You seriously cannot be making me answer this question. I have to choose? One? My gosh, that’s impossible.

Okay. I’ve come up with two, I had to limit myself. Nico di Angelo, Luna Lovegood, and Constance from Redwall.

39. Favorite fictional villain?

Ooooohhhh…Voldemort was pretty awesome (evil awesome, you know, not good awesome).

40. Book you’re most likely to bring on vacation?

I think I almost always have a copy of one of the Harry Potters or one of the Percy Jacksons. They’re classics, man! Classics!

41. The longest you’ve gone without reading?

When I was born till I learned how. 😉 I don’t remember, really.

42. Name a book that you would/could not finish.

The Snowmelt River. I still have a bookmark in there, so if I ever wanted to…it’s just really thick. And there’s a lot of confusing Irish words.

43. What distracts you easily while you’re reading?

Unless something is itchy, nothing. I tune out everything while I read. My friends say it’s like talking to a brick wall.

44. Favorite film adaption of a novel?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. They did a really good job on that one.

45. Most disappointing film adaption?

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief. That was, by far, the worst adaptation of a movie I’ve ever seen. It wasn’t even a good movie.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time?

If I have a gift card, and I think the largest I’ve ever had was $50 or $75.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

I’ve actually never done that…

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?

See question 11. Also, if it’s just not interesting me, or has an “eh” kind of plotline.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?

Not really…I do try to have all books in a series in order, and hardcovers assigned a specific area. Someday I want to.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away after reading them?

Come again? Why else do you think I need another bookshelf?

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. I started it…

52. Name a book that made you angry.

Uhhh…I don’t think I’ve ever had a book like that.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?

Jane Eyre. I loved it! I thought it would be long, and boring (yet somehow this made me want to read it more).

54. A book you expected to like but didn’t?

Girl Stolen by April Henry. It was mediocre. It seemed interesting, but really wasn’t. Directed towards YA with elementary level writing.

55. Favorite guilt free pleasure reading?

Brain fluff…and graphic novels. I recently read Baby’s In Black: Astrid Kirchherr, Stuart Sutcliffe, and the Beatles by Arne Belletorf. It was really good, beautiful (you know, for a graphic novel) drawings and amazing story. I loved it. I also read Foiled by Jane Yolen and Mike Cavallaro, which was a nice fantasy-ish story.

 

So, there you go! My 55 questions, completed. Whew! Any comments?

Evi

5 thoughts on “Fifty-Five Questions about Books and Reading

  1. Lola and the Boy Next Door is amazing ♡ it’s actually very realistic and not cheesy at least in my opinion, and Anna and the French Kiss was amazing too (:
    And omg I love Nico too (:
    And I just read The Sorcerer’s Stone and watched the movie yesterday and I agree, it was pretty good, they changed a bit but not a lot and they still kept all the main parts really, it was great. I’m excited to continue the series (I’m reading them for the first time)
    And I also agree with The Lightning Thief, those books were fantastic, but the movie wasn’t. I watched the movie before reading it and not gonna lie it was a pretty good movie on it’s own and it was very entertaining but then I read the books and it was so different, and so much better. I do still enjoy the movies as just movies because Percy’s still in it lol but it was sad how they were so disappointing.

    Like

what's on your mind?

