A Little Update On What Has Happened

So, hey! I’m back (again)! My camp was quite awesome, thank you. It was a music camp and I play saxamaphone and it was SO FUN. Made some new friends. Drank the ale of one of them’s people (ginger ale. Not actual beer.). Read sad and happy and MWAHHHHH books.

The first book I read was this one: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

At first I was a little confused. Then I got depressed, because (spoiler alert) they get hit by a car. And Aristotle saves Dante’s life. And gets really beat up in the process. ALL BECAUSE OF A BIRD. And then I found more stuff out, and I’m like this is the most amazing book ever.

I didn’t realize it was LGBTQ+ until I finished it, and I didn’t care. I was shipping them in my head before I found out. So I found out and I’m like “YES!!!”. But really depressed, because even if it’s a sweet book with a happy ending, it’s still got this air of depressingness.

Yes. I finally read this.

AMAZING BOOK. But you’ve probably heard that already, so I won’t go into detail.

So, I was reading at camp. In the dark. We were watching Iron Man 3 but I’d never seen the others. So I read. And listened to The Black Parade.

NOTE: Before this, I was like, “I’m not gonna cry. I already know what happens. I never cry on books.”

Right when I reached the depressing part (okay, area, there’s a whole section of depressing parts) the song Cancer by My Chemical Romance came on. I’ll give you a snippet of the lyrics (hey, I’ll give you the whole thing!) so you can see.

Turn away,
If you could get me a drink
Of water ’cause my lips are chapped and faded
Call my aunt Marie
Help her gather all my things
And bury me in all my favorite colors,
My sisters and my brothers, still,
I will not kiss you,
‘Cause the hardest part of this is leaving you.

Now turn away,
‘Cause I’m awful just to see
‘Cause all my hairs abandoned all my body,
Oh, my agony,
Know that I will never marry,
Baby, I’m just soggy from the chemo
But counting down the days to go
It just ain’t living
And I just hope you know

That if you say (if you say)
Goodbye today (goodbye today)
I’d ask you to be true (cause I’d ask you to be true)

‘Cause the hardest part of this is leaving you
‘Cause the hardest part of this is leaving you

MWAHHHH!!!!!!!!

And then the feels hit and I started crying. And then I text my friend who’s name on here is raineadams (she previously had told me to stop texting her, she wanted to sleep) because well, I’m sobbing. And it’s the Fault in our Stars.

She was very nice and tried to distract me with Maleficent, which is epic btw. Really. Again, sorry, raineadams.

But then one of my camp friends proceeded to take my Ipod but I didn’t care ’cause stupid me kept reading. And crying. And then one of my other friends and I shared the feels ’cause she was doing the same thing I was, just different book and no crying.

Still.

I’ll try to post more! Hopefully!

Evi

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

