Stacking the Shelves

stacking the shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. You share books you’ve added to your collection, real or virtual.

So, because I got a Barnes & Noble gift card and visited a cute little book store, I got lots of new books! I also visited the library…book paradise.

Here’s what I got at B & N:

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Best book about dragons ever. I’d heard about it at school, and I heard that he was only 15 when he wrote it AND graduated high school (I’m not joking. I’m reading Eldest now and it’s on the inside back cover flap [hardcover]). So I got it and read it, and Saphira is epic. I don’t care much for Eragon though at times. I think I might be Arya for Halloween some year. However, I saw the movie, and was dreadfully disappointed on how much they left out. An entire character or two. A couple (say, 20) chapters. You can’t just do that! At least by movie standards it was good. We don’t need another Sea of Monsters, now, do we?

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I fangirl over Fangirl, and Cather, and Reagan (because she’s my favorite character, next being Baz), and Levi, and Art (her dad), and even Wren. That was the first feels book I’ve read. Reagan is especially epic- when I get my copy of the book back (I’m lending it to a friend), I’ll post the conversation when Reagan calls Cath about a couch. That made me laugh so hard.

 This is not my copy, but is exactly what mine looks like. Just picture the sticky notes purple.

But meanwhile…

Ahem…okay now.

The Once And Future King by T.H. White

I had to get this for summer reading…and I must admit, it looks pretty cool. I promise I don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but I do find it more admirable if it has a good one.

Medieval fights! Merlyn! King Arthur! Romance! Epic Battle Sequences! I’m ready!

…I still need to read it, however. 🙂

And these I got from the most amazing little bookstore ever.

The One by Kiera Cass

I was very excited that this book was coming out and I could meet the author a little later into the week. And so, I got the book and read it. How can you not root for America and Maxon?

I was overall thrilled but disappointed at parts. But more on that in a book review. I’ll post after I meet the author.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Oh, Mrs. Rowell, why must you do this to my heart?

Eleanor & Park was definitely one of the best love stories I have ever read. Poor, poor Eleanor. Poor, poor, Park.

I am a firm believer that those three words were “I love you”. They shall see each other again, I know it! Or I’ll make up scenarios in which they do. Except I’ll never be able to write like Rainbow Rowell.

Speaking of which, what an awesome name. Rainbow. Very sunshiney and yet very ominous. Sunlight and rain, right? She’s good at putting her name in writing.

I love this artist’s picture.

 *sniffs*

 

And now, on to my library bag!

Ever by Gail Carson Levine

Gail Carson Levine’s stories always hook me. Fantasy/fairy tales and romance? Who wouldn’t want that? I liked Ever, how there was the clash of Kezi’s religion versus her love for Olus. Very pretty story.

The Wells Bequest by Polly Shulman

Yes, this is by the author who wrote The Grimm Legacy. It is, in fact, a companion to the book. And it features Jaya as one of the main characters, if you remember her.

More of the New York Circulation Repository? I was hooked. And though I’m not much of a science fan, this book was just great. Polly Shulman, write us another!

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

I had read a review of this book, and seen it in numerous places, and was extremely glad too find it at my library. Plus…the cover is cool. I have a feeling I’ll like this WWII story. Verity is a pretty epic code name. She can’t die! She can’t! was my first reaction after reading the inside cover. As soon as I finish the next book on this list, I’m headin’ straight for this one.

Eldest by Christopher Paolini

After reading Eragon, I was very excited to read Eldest. I swear I squealed when I found it (not that it’s that hard to miss- look at the size of it!).

 See that ginormous red book? IT”S HUGE!

SPOILERS START HERE!!!!!

I’ve started it, and I’m rather dismayed by the fact that almost all of my fave characters are dead. Ajihad, Murtagh *sniff..*, and Brom. The amazingness of the book makes up for it, but Murtagh…you just can’t kill of Murtagh! (I especially like who portrayed him in the movie.)

Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson

I read the sequel, Hattie Ever After, first (accidentally, of course!) and decided I should read the first when I immensely enjoyed the second. I haven’t started it yet, but am excited!

Thornhill by Kathleen Peacock

I read the first in it’s series, Hemlock, a while ago, and thought it was interesting. Maybe not an epic plot line, but was interesting enough to hold my attention. This’ll probably be the last one I’m going to read- I don’t have super high hopes for it.

 

There ya go! Stacking the Shelves #2  done! Be prepared for book reviews left and right…

Evi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

