Unspoken Thoughts (poem)

So, I’m writing a poem for a school thing, and I figured you guys should be the first to see it…and I really just wanted to share it with sombodies. Here ya go!

Unspoken Thoughts

When I speak

there are restrictions.

Invisible

silken

restraints

holding me back

from what I really want to say.

 

Sometimes it’s hard.

The people-

the environment-

the things.

Sometimes

there are words

that just

want to pour out of my soul

but

I

can’t

let

them

 

I’m worried

people will laugh

or not understand

or get frustrated

or not say anything at all.

 

“Words are powerful”, they say,

and that’s the truth.

It’s the things

unheard

unsaid

unspoken

that make the difference-

big or small.

I’m scared

my words won’t make a

That people will merely shrug and say-

Okay.

 

Writing things down

is a freedom to me.

The things left unsaid

pour

from my lips

to my pen

onto paper.

I can say what I really can’t.

What I’d be too embarrassed to say aloud.

 

So what might be truly important

is locked up on paper

for few eyes to see.

Despite the freedom of writing

my words are not yet

free.

 

So, do you like? I love it, if I do say so myself. 😉

 

5 thoughts on “Unspoken Thoughts (poem)

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

