Book Review: Gamer Girl by Mari Macusi

Yay! My very first Book Review! Aren’t you proud? 🙂

Image

Gamer Girl by Mari Mancusi

Summary: Maddy’s life couldn’t get much worse. Her parents split and now she’s stuck in a small town and at a new school. Most of the time, she retreats into her manga art, but when she gets into the Fields of Fantasy online computer game, she knows she’s found the one place she can be herself. In the game world, Maddy can be the beautiful and magical Allora and have a virtually perfect life. And she even finds a little romance. But can Maddy escape her real-life problems altogether, or will she have to find a way to make her real world just as amazing as her virtual one?

Rating: 4 and 3/4 smiley faces

Review:

I absolutely adored this book. Maddy’s parent have recently divorced and she, her mom, and her younger sister move in with her grandmother. In her virtual world of Fields of Fantasy, she meets a guy named Sir Leo that becomes her only friend. Maddy also is an anime/manga person, which I absolutely love. I have not read a lot or seen a lot, but I absolutely love things like Last Exile, ChocoMimi, and My Neighbor Totoro. I love Chad- and I thought had it been Matt, she should have given him a chance. I thought she was a bit too hard on the poor guy. And the plot twist- loved the plot twist. And Chad. And Black Raven was epic.

Things I Disliked:

The one thing I disliked is that some parts of the book weren’t very realistic. Like, what is the chance of meeting a guy on a video game that happens to go to your school? Or her grandmother actually making her wear the unicorn sweatshirt? But overall, I loved this book and it gets 4 and 3/4 smileys.

Evi

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Gamer Girl by Mari Macusi

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

