Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

So, from now on, I (hopefully) will be doing Top Ten Tuesday! It’s a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish, and for more info click here.

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

1.

No Passengers Beyond This Point by Gennifer Choldenko

This was a good read. Once I got through it. It took me awhile- the whole other universe sort of confused me and it was a bit slow to me at first. But, once I got through it, I read it. Again. 🙂

2.

Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke

Don’t get me wrong, I loved Inkheart and Inkspell. But once I reached the third, I was a bit exhausted. I mean, man, those books are thick. I was so slow on this that it took me like a week to read, when generally it would take a day or so. But I did love the romance. 🙂

3.

The Revenge of the Shadow King by Derek Benz and J.S. Lewis

This book confuses me. It still does. It is possibly, other than The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making (that’s a mouthful), one of the oddest fantasy books I’ve read. It’s just so…random. There’s just a different air about it. Anybody who read it agree with me?

4.

Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner

Okay, maybe this is the second oddest (sorry, #3!). At first, I didn’t want to read it because of the title. It sounded ominous and scary. Well, this book isn’t exactly sunshine and rainbows either. It’s good- but different. Definitely different.

5.

Under Wildwood by Colin Meloy

This was the same situation as Inkdeath- thick (even though I generally target thick books- sorry!) and it was on my Kindle. Which I don’t use as much as actual books, so I read it less. It took longer. Though once I finished, I can now not wait for the third book! 😉

6.

Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Okay- for all you space/sciencey people, this book is for you. If you like time travel, this book is for you. If you like being so confused your head feels like it’s about to split open, this book is for you.

I actually like space and science and time travel, but the time travel was very in depth and completely boggled my head. I liked- sort of- the head being boggled part. ‘Cause once I actually got it, IT MADE SO MUCH SENSE! But that also took a couple of rereads…;) Now I’m completely hooked on the series.

7.

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

This book is definitely one everyone should read. It’s an amazing classic. But, be warned- it drags a little at some points and there are long old English words. But it’s vivid and you can picture almost everything you read.

8.

The Glory Field by Walter Dean Myers

I had to read this book for a class- it was good, and a cool timeline of one family’s history, but it’s long. And I don’t mean length, I mean it drags a little. It was slow at parts, but other than that…

9.

The Limit by Kristen Landon

The Limit was good, and I like it, but it took me a while because it was dystopian, but it was a cross of realistic and dystopian, and that just sort of boggled my head. Personal opinion, that’s all.

10.

Watership Down by Richard Adams

This book took me FOREVER. It’s long. I guess I’m just not a classics person. Plus, the movie scared me. Try being shown that when you’re 5. Uggh.

 

So, those are my books! What books did you just barely make it through? Comment!

Evi

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

  1. Hi! Thanks for following me!
    I haven’t read any of the Inkheart books, but they have been on my reading list for AGES. I’m going to push them up a notch now! I’m not very good with classics either, but I’ve been meaning to read more classics this year.

    Like

I love comments, and I would love to hear what you have to say! Just...keep it PG, please?

